Don't have an account? Click Here
Dixon Heads Pac-10's All-Conference Team
Release Date: 12/03/2007
Print RSS
Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. University of Oregon quarterback Dennis Dixon heads the list of five Duck football players named the Pacific-10 Conference’s first-team as he was an unanimous choice as the league’s Offensive Player of the Year despite missing the final two games of the regular season.

The San Leandro, Calif., senior, who is one of three finalists for the Maxwell Award as the nation’s top collegiate player, becomes only the school’s third player in the 33 years the award has been given to earn the league’s top offensive player honors, joining quarterbacks Akili Smith (1998) and Joey Harrington (2001).

Joining Dixon on the first-team all-conference squad are a quartet of junior standouts -- defensive back Patrick Chung, defensive end Nick Reed, running back Jonathan Stewart and offensive lineman Max Unger. It marks the most first-team all-conference selections the Ducks have secured since they had five players named to the first team in the program’s 1994 Rose Bowl season.

Stewart also was an unanimous first-team choice after leading the Pac-10 in rushing (122.4 avg.) and ranking 10th in the country. The Ducks’ single-season rushing (1,469 yards) and all-purpose yards (2,199) record-holder also ranks second in the league in all-purpose yards and third in kickoff returns. He also has been selected a first-team All-American by the American Football Coaches Association.

Reed stands third in the nation in tackles for loss (1.88 per game avg.) and tied for sixth in quarterback sacks (1.0 avg.) as the conference leader in both categories, while Chung is third in the league in tackles (9.17 avg.) in addition to snagging two interceptions, forcing one fumble and blocking two kicks.

Unger started all 12 games at center in 2007 for an offensive unit that shattered the 52-year-old school record for rushing yards (2,919) while ranking eighth in the country (243.3 avg.). He earned second-team all-conference honors a year ago at left tackle and has extended his string of consecutive starts to 37 games.

Oregon’s five first-team all-conference selections were exceeded only by USC’s eight first-team picks.

In addition, Stewart was named to the second-team all-conference unit as a kick returner, along with senior offensive lineman Geoff Schwartz and junior offensive lineman Fenuki Tupou.

Earning honorable mention all-conference acclaim were junior linebacker Jerome Boyd, punter Josh Syria and wide receiver Jaison Williams, as well as sophomore defensive backs Jairus Byrd and Walter Thurmond, and defensive end Will Tukuafu.



First Team Offense                                                                                             Second Team Offense

QB Dennis Dixon, Sr., Oregon                                                                           QB Alex Brink, Sr., Washington State

RB Jonathan Stewart, Jr., Oregon                                                                      RB Yvenson Bernard, Sr., Oregon State

RB Justin Forsett, Sr., California                                                                        RB Louis Rankin, Sr., Washington

WR Mike Thomas, Jr., Arizona                                                                          WR DeSean Jackson, Jr., California

WR Brandon Gibson, Jr., Washington State                                                   WR Lavelle Hawkins, Sr., California

TE Fred Davis, Sr., USC                                                                                      TE Jed Collins, Sr., Washington State

OL Alex Mack, Jr., California                                                                              OL Geoff Schwartz, Sr., Oregon

OL Max Unger, Jr., Oregon                                                                                 OL Juan Garcia, Sr., Washington

OL Chilo Rachel, Jr., USC   OL Andy Levitre, Jr., Oregon State

OL Roy Schuening, Sr., Oregon State                                                              OL Eben Britton, So., Arizona

OL Sam Baker, Sr., USC       OL Alex Fletcher, Jr., Stanford

OL Mike Pollack, Sr., Arizona State                                                                  OL Fenuki Tupou, Jr., Oregon


First Team Defense                                                                                            Second Team Defense

DL Sedrick Ellis, Sr., USC    DL Bruce Davis, Sr., UCLA

DL Lawrence Jackson, Sr., USC                                                                         DL Dexter Davis, So., Arizona State

DL Nick Reed, Jr., Oregon DL Lionel Dotson, Sr., Arizona

DL Dorain Smith, Sr., Oregon State                                                                   DL Jeff Van Orsow, Sr., Oregon State

LB Spencer Larsen, Sr., Arizona                                                                        LB Joey LaRocque, Sr., Oregon State

LB Keith Rivers, Sr., USC   LB Alan Darlin, Sr., Oregon State

LB Robert James, Sr., Arizona State                                                                  LB Derrick Doggett, Sr., Oregon State

LB Rey Maualuga, Jr., USC                                                                                LB Zack Follett, Jr., California

DB Antoine Cason, Sr., Arizona                                                                        DB Terrell Thomas, Sr., USC

DB Patrick Chung, Jr., Oregon                                                                           DB Justin Tryon, Sr., Arizona State

DB Kevin Ellison, Jr., USC DB Brandon Hughes, Jr., Oregon State

DB Chris Horton, Sr., UCLA                                                                              DB Troy Nolan, Jr., Arizona State


First Team Specialists                                                                                       Second Team Specialists


PK Thomas Weber, Fr., Arizona State                                                              PK Alexis Serna, Sr., Oregon State

P Keenyn Crier, Fr., Arizona                                                                               P Jay Ottovegio, Sr., Stanford

KOR Matthew Slater, Sr., UCLA                                                                       KOR Jonathan Stewart, Jr., Oregon

PR Kyle Williams, So., Arizona State                                                                PR DeSean Jackson, Jr., California

ST Jahvid Best, Fr., California            ST Wopamo Osaisai, Jr., Stanford

ST=special teams player (not a kicker or returner)


 Offensive Player of the Year: Dennis Dixon, QB, Sr., Oregon
Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year: Sedrick Ellis, NT, Sr., USC
Freshman of the Year: Jake Locker, QB, Washington
Coach of the Year: Dennis Erickson, Arizona State










Ducks On Pac-12 Networks