Don't have an account? Click Here
Eleven Ducks Land All-Pac-12 Softball Honors
Release Date: 05/16/2012
Print RSS
Related Links

* Click here to visit the Eugene NCAA Regional Tourney page.


WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – Showcasing one of its most talented teams ever, the No. 12-ranked University of Oregon softball team celebrated a host of All-Pac-12 Team selections announced Wednesday.

Junior pitcher Jessica Moore and outfielder Samantha Pappas led the way with their second, All-Pac-12 First-Team honors, while senior shortstop Kelsey Chambers and junior second baseman Kaylan Howard earned their first All-Pac-12 Second-Team nods.

Four other Ducks added honorable mention status – senior utility player Christie Nieto and sophomore infielders Courtney Ceo, Kailee Cuico and catcher Alexa Peterson.

Among other honors, outfielder Janie Takeda was tabbed to the All-Pac-12 Freshman Team, and outfielder Sara Goodrum and pitcher Karissa Hovinga were honorable mentions.

Moore registered all of the team’s wins vs. top-25 foes this year (13), and became the second Duck to beat every league foe in a season since the conference expanded to eight teams in 1995. This week, she stood 15th nationally in wins (27), led the Pac-12 in innings (244.2) and ranked third in wins (27) and strikeouts (209).

Thanks to her offensive tear the last six weeks, Pappas ended the regular season ranked top 10 in the Pac-12 in doubles (third, 14), batting (sixth, .407), stolen bases (seventh, 18), on-base percentage (eighth, .485) and slugging (10th, .697).

Several other Ducks were also easy to spot in a host of league categories, and their rankings follow: Cuico (chances, first, 430; putouts, first, 413; RBI, seventh, 51), Takeda (sacrifice bunts, first-10-tied), Nieto (hit by pitch, fourth, 11), Chambers (runs, ninth, 46), and Hovinga (games finished, sixth-tied, 12; games in relief, eighth, 12).

Since UO’s first honor in 1988, Moore became the first Duck hurler to earn repeat all-league honors, and only two others have claimed single honors - Ani Nyhus (2004) and Katie Wiese (1989).

Two years ago, the Sutter, Calif., native Moore was an All-Pac-12 Second-Team honoree and All-Freshman Team pick. Pappas was a first-team choice as a freshman when she was tabbed the league newcomer of the year in ‘10, and Ceo and Chambers were honorable mentions in 2011 and ’10, respectively.

All-time Oregon, UO has racked up 21 first-team honors and 37 second-team selections in the award based on a vote by Pac-12 head coaches. Only once before has a Duck team earned more honors when UO claimed seven, first- and second-team laurels in 1989 in the then-six-team conference.

Other top season awards went to California’s Valerie Arioto (Player of the Year), Valerie Henderson (Pitcher of the Year) and Diane Ninemire (Coach of the Year), Arizona State’s Katelyn Boyd (Batting Champion), Stanford’s Ashley Hansen (Defensive Player of the Year) and UCLA’s Stephany LaRosa (Freshman of the Year).

This week, Oregon looks ahead to its 14th NCAA tournament appearance and hosts its first-ever regional games at Howe Field in Eugene. Tabbed as the #11 seed overall in the 64-team field, the Ducks first face Portland State on Thursday, May 17 at 6 p.m., in the three-day, double-elimination event. Just before, BYU and Mississippi State open action with a 3 p.m. game Thursday.

Every game will be broadcast for free online at Oregon’s website via its regional tourney page at the URL address.

Valerie Arioto, CAL
B.B. Bates, UCLA
Katelyn Boyd, ASU
Dallas Escobedo, ASU
Ashley Hansen, STAN
Andrea Harrison, UCLA
Jolene Henderson, CAL
Kaitlin Inglesby, WASH
Alix Johnson, ASU
Stephany LaRosa, UCLA
Annie Lockwood, ASU
Jessica Moore, ORE
Samantha Pappas, ORE
Shelby Pendley, ARIZ
Kimi Pohlman, WASH
Jamia Reid, CAL
Jenna Rich, STAN
Elizabeth Santana, OSU
Katie Schroeder, UCLA
Hanna Winter, STAN

Hillary Bach, ASU
Samantha Camuso, UCLA
Elizabeth Caporuscio, ASU
Kelsey Chambers, ORE
Brigette Del Ponte, ARIZ
Kaylan Howard, ORE
Lini Koria, ARIZ
Leah White, STAN
Nikia Williams, WASH
Hallie Wilson, ARIZ

Honorable Mention: Jenna Becerra, STAN; Mary Clare Brenner, OSU; Maya Burns, STAN; Courtney Ceo, ORE; Kailee Cuico, ORE; Frani Echavarria, CAL; Katelyn Elliott, UTAH; Amber Freeman, ASU; Teagan Gerhart, STAN; Dani Gilmore, OSU; Erin Guzy, OSU; Paige Hall, OSU; Jessica Hall, UCLA; Talor Haro, ASU; Victoria Hayward, WASH; Danielle Henderson, CAL; Whitney Holm, UTAH; Kelsey Hoopiiaina, UTAH; Breana Kostreba, CAL; Kylee Lahners, WASH; Generra Nielson, UTAH; Christie Nieto, ORE; Tia Palauni, UTAH; Alexa Peterson, ORE; Jessica Spigner, ARIZ; Bailey Wigness, ASU; Jace Williams, CAL; Dani Yudin, UCLA.

Elizabeth Caporuscio, ASU
Ally Carda, UCLA
Cheyenne Cordes, CAL
Amber Freeman, ASU
Dani Gilmore, OSU
Danielle Henderson, CAL
Breana Kostreba, CAL
Stephany LaRosa, UCLA
Shelby Pendley, ARIZ
Haley Steele, ASU
Janie Takeda, ORE
Leah White, STAN
Hallie Wilson, ARIZ
Hanna Winter, STAN

Honorable Mention: Kate Dickman, UTAH; Aryn Feickert, OSU; Kiara Garcia, OSU; Chelsea Goodacre, ARIZ; Sara Goodrum, ORE; Karissa Hovinga, ORE; Kylee Lahners, WASH; Cassandra Roulund, STAN; Kimberlee Souza, WASH; Chelsea Suitos, ARIZ; Nyree White, STAN.

Player of the Year: Valerie Arioto, CAL
Pitcher of the Year: Jolene Henderson, CAL
Freshman of the Year: Stephany LaRosa, UCLA
Defensive Player of the Year: Ashley Hansen, STAN
Coach of the Year: Diane Ninemire, CAL
Batting Champion: Katelyn Boyd, ASU

2012 – Jessica Moore (1st), Samantha Pappas (1st), Kelsey Chambers (2nd), Kaylan Howard (2nd)
2011 - Jessica Moore (1st), Monique Fuiava (2nd)
2010 – Samantha Pappas (1st), Jessica Moore (2nd)
2009 — Neena Bryant (2nd)
2008 — Neena Bryant (2nd)
2007 — Jenn Salling (1st);  Sari-Jane Jenkins (2nd); Suzie Barnes (2nd); Ann Marie Topps (2nd)
2006 — Breanne Sabol (2nd)
2005 — Lovena Chaput, OF (2nd); Amy Harris, P (2nd)
2004 — Ani Nyhus, P (1st);  Jenn Poore, C (2nd)
2003 — Andrea Vidlund,UT (2nd)
2002 — Andrea Vidlund, (2nd)
2000 — Missy Coe, C (2nd);  Triawn Custer, IF (2nd)
1999 — Katie Mackey, IF (1st); Missy Coe, C (1st); Jill Robinson, IF/OF (2nd)
1998 — Jennie Cook, P/IF (2nd); Triawn Custer, IF (2nd); Jill Robinson, IF (2nd)
1997 — Lindsey Welch, OF (1st); Heather Holte, C (2nd)
1996 — Kathy Stahl, SS (1st); Angie LeRoy, 2B (2nd)
1995 — Kathy Stahl, SS (1st)
1994 — Laura Schmidt, C (1st); Kathy Stahl, SS (2nd); Heather Holte, DP (2nd)
1993 — Kathy Stahl, SS (1st); Lisa Preston, OF (2nd); Rachelle Taylor, P (2nd)
1992 — Kim Manning, SS (2nd); Marnie McCall, OF (2nd); Laura Schmidt, OF (2nd)
1991 — Julie Cavanaugh, 1B (1st); Laura Schmidt, DP (1st); Kim Manning, OF (2nd); Tracey Simmons, C (2nd)
1990 — Julie Cavanaugh, 1B (1st); Jeanna King, OF (2nd); Tracey Simmons, UT (2nd); Katie Wiese, P (2nd)
1989 — Julie Cavanaugh, C (1st); Kathy Gray, 1B (1st); Kim Manning, DP (1st); *Katie Wiese, P (1st);  Stacey Funderburg, 2B (2nd); Danny Senner, SS (2nd); Tracey Simmons, UTIL (2nd)
1988 — Cheryl Coryell, DP (1st)

* = Pitcher of the Year

2012 – Janie Takeda, OF
2011 - Courtney Ceo, 3B; Alexa Peterson, C
2010 — Allie Burger, OF; Jessica Moore, P; **Samantha Pappas, OF
2009 — Samantha Skillingstad, P

** = Pac-12 Freshman of the Year

- –

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks