Don't have an account? Click Here
Miernicki & Wong Honored to Ping All-America 1st Team
Release Date: 06/26/2012
Print RSS
Related Links
NORMAN, Okla. – After polishing off impressive senior campaigns, University of Oregon men’s golfers Daniel Miernicki and Eugene Wong were recently rewarded with the second PING All-America honors of their careers by the National Golf Coaches Association.

The duo were both tabbed to the 10-person first team, and joined the Texas twosome of Dylan Frittelli and Jordan Spieth as the only pair honored from the same squad on the first team.

Two other Pac-12 golfers were honored to the top team - Patrick Rodgers of Stanford and Chris Williams of  Washington.

Four league members were selected to the second team (Patrick Cantlay and Pedro Figueiredo of UCLA, Cheng-Tsung Pan of Washington and Andrew Yun of Stanford) and another made the third team (Max Homa of California).

In prior years, Wong picked up his initial first-team honor as a sophomore in 2010 – the same season he was tabbed the Nicklaus Player of the Year. Miernicki was a second-team choice in ’10, and an honorable mention in ’09 (the same year he was on the national All-Freshman Team).

In 2011-12, Wong and Miernicki stood fourth and 11th nationally in scoring average (70.35 / 70.70) and capped their careers ranked second and first career-wise for UO in number of rounds of par or better (82 / 90), respectively.

Season-wise, their 2011-12 scoring averages ranked first and third in school history, and the duo stood third and fourth all-time for the Ducks in number of rounds of par or better in a season (26/24) behind their totals from 2009-10 (32/28).

Miernicki and Wong are tied for second-most All-America honors in school history behind Peter Jacobsen who was a three-time second-team choice (1974-76).

All-time in program history, Ducks have earned 15 All-America honors (1st-4; 2nd-8; 3rd-3), and 15 more honorable mention nods.

More information on the National Golf Coaches association and past All-America teams is available at the website.

2011-12 PING All-America Teams
First Team
    Blayne Barber, Auburn
    Julien Brun, TCU
    Dylan Frittelli, Texas
    Stephan Jaeger, Chattanooga
*   Daniel Miernicki, Oregon
    Thomas Pieters, Illinois
    Patrick Rodgers, Stanford
    Jordan Spieth, Texas
    Justin Thomas, Alabama
    Chris Williams, Washington
*   Eugene Wong, Oregon

Second Team
    Patrick Cantlay, UCLA
    Pedro Figueiredo, UCLA
    Luke Guthrie, Illinois
    Brooks Koepka, Florida State
    Ben Kohles, Virginia
    Cheng-Tsung Pan, Washington
    J.J. Spaun, San Diego State
    T.J. Vogel, Florida
    Cory Whitsett, Alabama
    Andrew Yun, Stanford

Third Team
    Zac Blair, BYU
    Alex Ching, San Diego
    Max Homa, California
    Robert Karlsson, Liberty
    Joakim Mikkelsen, Baylor
    Julian Suri, Duke
    Julio Vegas, Texas
    James White, Georgia Tech
    Peter Williamson, Dartmouth
    Bobby Wyatt, Alabama

Honorable Mention: Anders Albertson, Georgia Tech; Josh Anderson, Pepperdine; Anton Arboleda, UCLA; Kevin Aylwin, North Florida; Dominic Bozzelli, Auburn; Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas; John Catlin, New Mexico; Albin Choi, NC State; Eric Chun, Northwestern; Corey Conners, Kent State; Sean Dale, North Florida; Greg Eason, UCF; Derek Ernst, UNLV; Ricardo Gouveia, UCF; Vaita Guillaume, Campbell; Brandon Hagy, California; Jeffrey Kang, Southern California; Michael Kim, California; Will Kropp, Oklahoma; Steve Lim, USC; Tyler McCumber, Florida; Nate McCoy, Iowa State; Corbin Mills, Clemson; Keith Mitchell, Georgia; Cameron Peck, Texas A&M; Kevin Penner, UNLV; Matt Schovee, SMU; Max Scodro, Notre Dame; Ethan Tracy, Arkansas; Joseph Winslow, Iowa; Sang Yi, LSU

All-Time Oregon All-Americans
1959 Keith Gubrud (3rd)
1960 Tom Shaw (3rd)
1961 Jerry Cundari (2nd)
1962 Jerry Cundari (HM)
1970 Craig Griswold (HM)
1971 Dave Glenz (2nd)
1972 Craig Griswold (1st)
1973 Craig Griswold (HM)
1974 Peter Jacobsen (2nd)
1975 Peter Jacobsen (2nd)
1976 Peter Jacobsen (2nd)
1976 Jeff Sanders (3rd)
1977 Brent Murray (HM)
1978 Brent Murray (2nd)
1978 Scott Tuttle (HM)
1979 Jon Heselwood (HM)
1981 Shell Joyner (HM)
1982 Eric Johnson (HM)
1983 Mark Sivara (HM)
1983 Paul Weinhold (HM)
1986 George Daves (2nd)
1987 Steve Rintoul (HM)
1990 Tim Hval (HM)
1992 Jeff Lyons (HM)
2005 Gregg LaVoie (HM)
2009 Daniel Miernicki (HM)
2010 Eugene Wong (1st)*
2010 Daniel Miernicki (2nd)
2012 Eugene Wong (1st)
2012 Daniel Miernicki (1st)

* Nicklaus Player of the Year

- –

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks