Don't have an account? Click Here
Ducks Oregon Hall of Fame BIO
1970 Men's Track & Field Team
Player Profile:
1970 Men's Track & Field Team 936813
Position: Hall of Fame Inductee
Other Position: 2011
Steve Prefontaine and Bouncy Moore led Oregon to perhaps its most unlikely NCAA title at Des Moines, Iowa, in 1970. Initially, California won the meet with 40 points, but the Golden Bears were disqualified for using an ineligible competitor and the Ducks emerged as three-way co-champions along with Brigham Young and Kansas. Prefontaine, a freshman, captured the 3-mile race in 13:22.00, while Moore was the national runner-up in the long jump (25-6). The Ducks also earned points from Steve Savage's third-place finish in the steeplechase (8:46.6), Albert Hearvy's fourth-place showing in the 100 yards (9.50), Gary Wolf's fifth-place discus (178-9) and Tom Smith's sixth-place long jump (25-1.25). Oregon also scored the last of its 35 points in the mile relay, where Hearvy, Vincent Buford, Weldon Vance and Doug Chapman took fourth in 3:08.1. Prefontaine and Moore were also Pac-8 champions in their respective events in 1970. Prefontaine, Savage and Chapman would all go on to become Olympians, while Prefontaine and Moore went on to win several U.S. titles.
Oregon Hall of Fame Photos: