Don't have an account? Click Here
Jordan, Mariota Named National Award Semifinalists
Release Date: 10/22/2012
Print RSS
Related Links
EUGENE, Ore. -- University of Oregon defensive end Dion Jordan and quarterback Marcus Mariota have been named to the national semifinalist lists for the Butkus Award and Davey O'Brien Award, respectively, it was announced Monday.

Jordan, a senior from Chandler, Ariz., is one of 12 semifinalists for the 28th annual Butkus Award, which honors the nation's best linebacker. The former wide receiver and 2011 first-team All-Pac-12 defender is tied for the team lead with five sacks and leads the nation's best Red Zone defensive unit, which has allowed only nine touchdowns in 29 visits inside the Ducks' 20-yard line.

Finalists for the Butkus Award will be revealed on Tuesday, Nov. 20, and the winner will be announced two weeks later on Dec. 4.

Just a redshirt freshman and the youngest player among 16 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award, Mariota has piloted the second-highest scoring offense in the Football Bowl Subdivision at 51.0 points per game. The Honolulu native ranks 21st in the FBS in passing efficiency rating (154.96) and last week at Arizona State became the first Pac-12 player with touchdowns passing, rushing and receiving in the same game since Cal's Kyle Boller in 2002 vs. Michigan State.

For the season, Mariota is 123 of 180 for 1,347 yards and 16 touchdowns against five interceptions. He has also rushed 53 times for 356 yards and two scores.

Mariota's predecessor, Darron Thomas, was a semifinalist in 2010 and 2011.

Finalists for the 36th annual "O'Brien" will be announced on Monday, Nov. 19 and the 2012 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards show airing Thursday, Dec. 6 on ESPN.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks