Don't have an account? Click Here

More Honors, Kelly a Finalist
Wednesday, December 9, 3:00 p.m. PST

LaMichael James and John Boyett have been named to the freshman all-America team sponsored by The website, a division of Scout and, had this to say about the Duck duo:

S John Boyett, Oregon – When injuries struck the Duck secondary early in the season, Boyett was one of the players to step up and solidify it. A former quarterback in high school and terrific athlete, he plays with excellent range and will lower the boom like a linebacker. Even as a part-time starter, he has a team-high 78 tackles and has broken up six passes.

RB LaMichael James, Oregon – James didn’t just break the Pac-10 rushing record for freshmen this season—he destroyed it. The backup to LeGarrette Blount before the season began, he was just ducky after the incumbent was suspended in the opener, rushing for 1,476 yards and 14 touchdowns in an eye-popping debut season.

Fellow frosh Carson York was named to the second team.

Chip Kelly, who received Pac-10 coach of the year honors on Monday, is one of seven finalists for the 2009 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award. The first-year skipper is among a group that also includes Texas' Mack Brown, Georgia Tech's Paul Johnson, Cincinnati's Brian Kelly, TCU's Gary Patterson, Boise State's Chris Petersen and Alabama's Nick Saban.

The award is presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA). The winner will be announced at a reception on Jan. 5 in Newport Beach, Calif., in conjunction with the BCS National Championship Game.

Oregon Football is now on Twitter. Follow HERE.

blog comments powered by Disqus