Don't have an account? Click Here

Kelly on Watch List
Monday, October 26, 3:30 p.m. PDT

Oregon’s Chip Kelly is one of 20 head coaches named to the Bryant College Football Coach of the Year watch list, released Monday after selection by the Paul “Bear” Bryant awards committee of the American Heart Association.

Kelly, who is off to a 6-1 start as a rookie skipper with the Ducks, is currently riding the longest winning streak (six games) by a first-year head coach at Oregon since Jim Aiken won six in a row to end the 1947 season.

Bryant College Football Coach of the Year finalists will be announced in December. The winner of the Bryant College Football Coach of the Year is voted on by members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association and is the only college coaching award voted on after all bowl games are played.

Bryant College Football Coach of the Year Watch List (alphabetical)
Robb Akey – University of Idaho
Mack Brown – University of Texas
Pete Carroll – University of Southern California
Kirk Ferentz – University of Iowa
Al Golden – Temple University
Mike Gundy – Oklahoma State University
Paul Johnson – Georgia Institute of Technology
Brian Kelly – University of Cincinnati
Chip Kelly – University of Oregon
Bronco Mendenhall – Brigham Young University
Urban Meyer – University of Florida
Les Miles – Louisiana State University
Joe Paterno – Penn State University
Gary Patterson – Texas Christian University
Chris Petersen – Boise State University
Nick Saban – University of Alabama
Randy Shannon – University of Miami
Bill Stewart – West Virginia University
Kevin Sumlin – University of Houston
Dave Wannstedt – University of Pittsburgh

The list of 15 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award were released today, but Oregon's Jeremiah Masoli did not make the cut. The Pac-10 is represented by USC's Matt Barkley and Washington's Jake Locker. Masoli may have been hurt in part by playing in only six games to this point and the general nature of UO's spread attack, which can limit individual statistics.

Passing Efficiency (Pac-10 games only)
1. Jeremiah Masoli, 168.7 (3 GP)
5. Matt Barkley, 142.3 (3 GP)
9. Jake Locker, 113.0 (5 GP)

Total Offense
4. Matt Barkley, 246.7 ypg
5. Jake Locker, 243.6 ygp
7. Jeremiah Masoli, 217.7 ypg

Oregon Football is now on Twitter. Follow HERE.

blog comments powered by Disqus