Don't have an account? Click Here

Kelly Up For Bryant Award
Friday, December 18, 4:30 p.m. PST

Pac-10 coach of the year Chip Kelly, already a finalist for the Eddie Robinson national coaching honor, is one of seven head football men being considered for the Paul "Bear" Bryant Award, the American Heart Association announced Thursday.

The only two coaches to defeat the Ducks in 2009, Boise State's Chris Petersen and Stanford's Jim Harbaugh, are also among the finalists. Mack Brown (Texas), Paul Johnson (Georgia Tech), Nick Saban (Alabama) and Kevin Sumlin (Houston) round out the head table guest list for the Jan. 14 awards dinner in Houston. Brown, Petersen and Saban are all former winners of the award.

The last two Pac-10 coaches to win the Bryant did so after leading their respective squads to the Rose Bowl. Bruce Snyder, a UO assistant from 1967-71, won the award in 1996 while at Arizona State, and Rich Brooks was the '94 recipient after taking the Ducks to Pasadena.

Sporting News issued its All-Pac-10 team for 2009 with Jeremiah Masoli and Ed Dickson representing the Ducks. The publication also tabbed Chip Kelly as its choice for Pac-10 coach of the year and LaMichael James as the conference's top freshman.

Oregon Football is now on Twitter. Follow HERE.

blog comments powered by Disqus