Don't have an account? Click Here

Fastbreak: Ducks Announce Annual Team Awards

Sunday, March 7, 4:00 p.m. PT

The University of Oregon men’s basketball program announced the team awards at its annual banquet held this year at the Valley River Inn. For the second consecutive season Tajuan Porter was named the team’s Most Valuable Player.

Porter, a senior from Detroit, Mich., earned MVP recognition in a vote conducted by the players. He is averaging a team-high 11.9 points per game this season, and will wrap up his stellar career in Oregon’s top 10 for points, 3-pointers (all-time leader), free throw percentage, steals and made field goals.

The Jesse Nash Most Improved Player Award (voted on by the players) went to sophomore forward Jeremy Jacob. The Baton Rouge, La., native is averaging 7.8 points and 4.7 rebounds per game this season. He has upped those averages to 9.2 points and 6.3 rebounds outing during the final nine games of Pac-10 play.

Sophomore guard Nicholas Fearn was named the John Warren Most Inspirational Player Award (voted on by players), while freshman forward E.J. Singler was the recipient of the Admiral John Dick Defensive Player of the Year award.

Sophomore guard Garrett Sim received the Harry Ritchie Scholar Athlete Award.

Awards were also given to the team’s leading rebounder (Michael Dunigan) and the player with the most assists (Malcolm Armstead).