Don't have an account? Click Here
Chip Kelly Named Finalist for Eddie Robinson Award
Release Date: 11/23/2010
Print RSS
Related Links

DALLAS – University of Oregon second-year head coach Chip Kelly has been named one of eight finalists for the 2010 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, the Football Writers Association of America, in conjunction with the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl, announced Tuesday.

Kelly’s Ducks (10-0, 7-0 Pac-10), who have been ranked No. 1 in the BCS standings for four consecutive weeks, are one of four unbeaten teams remaining in the Football Bowl Subdivision. Oregon leads the nation in scoring at 50.7 points per game while ranking 11th in scoring defense (17.2). The Ducks are also second nationally in total offense (542.2) and fifth in pass efficiency defense (96.7).

The Manchester, N.H., native, who was also a finalist for the award in 2009, is joined by Wisconsin's Bret Bielema, Auburn's Gene Chizik, Michigan State's Mark Dantonio, Oklahoma State's Mike Gundy, Stanford's Jim Harbaugh, Boise State's Chris Petersen and last year’s winner Gary Patterson of TCU.

In two years at the helm, Kelly has guided Oregon to a 20-3 overall mark, including a 15-1 record in Pac-10 play. The conference’s coach of the year in 2009, Kelly led the Ducks to a Pac-10 championship and Rose Bowl berth during his rookie season as a head coach at any level.

The FWAA coach of the year award, which has been presented annually since 1957, was renamed in honor of the late, legendary Grambling State coach in 1997.

The winner will be announced Dec. 6 at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks