Don't have an account? Click Here

Walker's Run - Oregon Cross Country, Track and Field Blog

Walker's Pace: Johnson Named National COY

Monday, March 21, 2011

Robert Johnson has been named the national track and field indoor national coach of the year by the USTFCCCA.

Here's the text from the USTFCCCA:

NEW ORLEANS - The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announces the National Coaches of the Year for the 2011 NCAA Division I Indoor Track & Field season. Florida Head Coach Mike Holloway was named National Men's Coach of the Year for the second-straight year as he led the Gators to a second-consecutive national team title and Oregon's Robert Johnson was tapped as the Bev Kearney Award winner as National Women's Coach of the Year. Johnson's Ducks won their second-straight NCAA indoor team title as well.

Bev Kearney Award -- National Women's Coach of the Year

Robert Johnson, Oregon

Oregon's women, mentored by Robert Johnson, won back-to-back national titles and did so this year by a wide margin in topping runner-up Texas, 67-38. Twenty-nine points is the largest margin of victory since Texas won the 1998 title by 30 points over nearest challenger LSU. Oregon would be led by the 22 points of sophomore Jordan Hasay who won national crowns in the mile and 3,000 meters as well as anchoring the Ducks to a second-place finish in the DMR. Hasay is the fifth overall and first to win the mile-3k double since Northern Arizona's Johanna Nilsson did so in 2006. Fellow Duck junior Brianne Theisen reset the collegiate record in the pentathlon (4,540) for the second time in the season in winning her second-straight national title in the event.

In his first indoor season as Oregon's associate head coach, Johnson led the Ducks to the 2011 Mountain Pacific Sports Federation team title and a number one national ranking throughout the season. Johnson is in his sixth year overall at Oregon.

Recent Winners:                             

2011: Robert Johnson, Oregon

2010: Vin Lananna, Oregon

2009: J.J. Clark, Tennessee

2008: Greg Kraft, Arizona State

2007: Greg Kraft, Arizona State           

Purchase 2011 Oregon Track & Field Tickets.

2011 Oregon Track & Field Multi-Media Guide.

2011 Season Bests.

Bookmark From the Press Box or subscribe to an RSS Feed for From the Press Box Blogs

blog comments powered by Disqus