Don't have an account? Click Here
Oregon Selected Host Site for NCAA Baseball Regional
Release Date: 05/27/2012
Print RSS
Related Links
INDIANAPOLIS – The University of Oregon has been selected as one of 16 regional sites for the 66th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced Sunday.

By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions have also been selected to the 64-team championship field.

Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from June 1 to June 4.

Of the 16 schools selected to host, Oregon and Purdue will be doing so for the first time.

The Ducks conclude the regular season today at Oregon State at 1 p.m. With a victory, Oregon can claim at least a share of the Pac-12 title.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at 9 a.m. PT, Monday, May 28. The one-hour program will be shown live on ESPNU. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men’s College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins.

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 4 at approximately 8 p.m. PT.

There are 30 Division I conferences which will receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections. The 66th Men’s College World Series begins play Friday, June 15, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Neb.

Oregon baseball last hosted a postseason event when the District 8 playoffs were played at  Howe Field. The Ducks defeated Seattle, 9-4, and Fresno State, 9-5 and 1-0, for the right to move on to the 1954 College World Series.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records (through May 26) are as follows:
Baton Rouge, La. — LSU (43-16)

Chapel Hill, N.C. — North Carolina (44-14)

Charlottesville, Va. — Virginia (38-17)

College Station, Texas — Texas A&M (42-16)

Columbia, S.C. — South Carolina (40-17)

Coral Gables, Fla. — *Miami (Fla.) (36-20)

Eugene, Ore. — *Oregon (42-16)

Gainesville, Fla. – Florida (42-18)

Gary, Ind. — Purdue (44-12)

Houston, Texas — Rice (40-17)

Los Angeles, Calif. — *UCLA (41-14)

Palo Alto, Calif. — *Stanford (37-16)

Raleigh, N.C. — North Carolina State (39-17)

Tallahassee, Fla. — Florida State (43-15)

Tucson, Ariz. — *Arizona (37-17)

Waco, Texas — Baylor (44-14)

*Teams that are playing Sunday.

Current UO students will receive free admittance for all games in which Oregon is playing by getting their UO Student ID scanned at either entry gate.
For all other regional games, UO Students can purchase one (1) GA student $4 ticket at the box office.

General Public
All Session packages are now ON SALE and offer a 10% discount over single day tickets: $119 (covered chair), $105 (chair), $84 (general admission).
Single day tickets go on sale Wednesday, May 30th at 5:00pm.

Each regional game will require individual admittance.

Per NCAA Postseason guidelines: “No alcoholic beverages shall be dispensed for public consumption anywhere in the competition venue”. Therefore, Fowl Territory will not be selling beer during any hosted postseason game at PK Park. 

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks