Don't have an account? Click Here
Four Ducks Honored by Pac-12
Release Date: 11/21/2012
Print RSS
Related Links
WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Three members of Oregon's 2012 NCAA championships cross country team and men's runner Trevor Dunbar were honored by the Pac-12 as the conference announced its postseason honors on Wednesday.

Hasay was named the Pac-12's Female Athlete of the Year for the third straight year. In leading the Ducks to their first NCAA Championship since 1987, Hasay finished third at the national meet. She also won the NCAA West Regional for the third time in her career and was the runner-up at the Pac-12 Championships. The Ducks won both of those meets for the first time since 1995.

Hasay became just the third woman to win three straight Pac-12 Female Athlete of the Year awards.

Robert Johnson was named the Pac-12 Women's Coach of the Year following Oregon's sweep of the conference and NCAA meets. He becomes the first Duck to win the honor since Tom Heinonen in 1995.

Freshman Allie Woodward was named Women's Pac-12 co-Freshman/Newcomer of the Year along with Stanford's Cayla Hatton. Woodward finished fifth at the league championships to become the first Duck to earn the rookie award since Hasay in 2007.

Dunbar, a senior transfer from the University of Portland, had a strong third place finish at the Pac-12 meet to earn Men's Pac-12 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year honors. The Kodiak, Alaska, native is the first Duck to take that award since Luke Puskedra in 2008.

The Pac-12 also announced its all-league selections on Wednesday.

Both Hasay and Woodward were first team selections for the Women's All-Pac-12 Team, along with senior Alexi Pappas, who placed fourth at the conference meet.

Dunbar and junior Parker Stinson, fourth at the Pac-12 meet, were named to the Men's first team as both runners helped Oregon take third at the conference competition and return to the NCAA Championships after missing the meet in 2011.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks