Don't have an account? Click Here
Fischer & Hasay Tabbed Pac-12 Senior Scholar-Athletes
Release Date: 11/29/2012
Print RSS
Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – After compiling one of the nation’s most impressive student-athlete resumes, senior outside hitter Katherine Fischer was honored as the Pac-12 Volleyball Senior Scholar-Athlete.

Among the six fall sport winners announced Thursday, the two-time Academic All-American Fischer was joined by Duck harrier
Jordan Hasay who received similar women's cross country honors.

"The Pac-12 Conference has great pride and respect for our rich history of academic and athletic excellence," said Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott. "We are proud of this year's group of student-athletes and their dedication to achieving success in sports and in the classroom."

An accounting major, Fischer owns a 4.01 cumulative GPA, and earlier this fall picked up her third Capital One Academic All-District First-Team honor.

On the court, she ranks fourth in the Pac-12 in aces (0.30 per set), and second on the team in digs (2.52 per set), third in kills (2.69 p/s), and fourth in hitting (.245).  The team’s active career double-double leader (34) also ranks top 10 all-time for UO in points (fifth, 1,370), aces (eighth, 112) and attempts (eighth, 3,313).

Earlier this week, she won her first career Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week honor after she posted a career-high hitting mark at Oregon State (.652) - the season's second-best mark on the season - and her 15 kills also topped the team.

Hasay won her third straight Pac-12 Women's Cross Country Athlete of the Year honor this month. The San Luis Obispo, Calif., native recently placed third in the NCAA Championships and led the Ducks to an NCAA team title. Earlier in the postseason she won the NCAA West Regional, and placed second in the Pac-12 Championships as UO added team championships in both events.

Off the course, she owns a 3.98 GPA and is a business administration major.

Other fall Pac-12 Scholar-Athletes included:

Nick Happe, Arizona State - Men’s cross country, 4.09 - Finance
John Bonano, Arizona - Football, 3.93 - physiology
Ryan Hollingshead, UCLA - Men’s soccer, 3.48 - psychology
Mariah Nogueira, Stanford - Women’s soccer, 3.63 - psychology

To be eligible for the award that was created in 2007-08, student-athletes must be a senior athletically, own a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher, and participate in at least half of the season’s contests

Other nominees included: *Men’s cross country: Matt Biegner, COLO; Miles Unterreiner, STAN; Joey Bywater, WASH; Andrew Kimpel, WSU; *Women’s cross country: Natasa Vulic, ASU; Nikki Look, COLO; Whitney Pitman, OSU; Kathy Kroeger, STAN; Katja Goldring, UCLA; Amanda Mergaert, UTAH; Kayla Evans, WASH; *Football: Matt Summers-Gavin, CAL; Will Pericak, COLO;
Michael Clay, ORE; Colby Prince, OSU; Daniel Zychlinski, STAN; Jeff Locke, UCLA; Khaled Holmes, USC; Sean Sellwood, UTAH; Travis Long, WSU; *Men’s soccer: Tony Salciccia, CAL; Travis Anderson, OSU; Adam Jahn, STAN; Dylan Tucker-Gangnes, WASH; *Women’s soccer: Kristin Strother, ARIZ; Nicki Stone, ASU; Betsy Hassett, CAL; Amy Barczuk, COLO; Scout Libke, ORE; Lindsay Meiggs, OSU; Courtney Garcia, USC; Kari Davidson, WASH; Mariah Cameron, WSU; *Volleyball: Alyssa O’Neil, OSU; Karissa Cook, STAN; Bojana Todorovic, UCLA; Kelcey Dunaway, WASH

Looking ahead, Fischer and the Ducks (25-4, 16-4) will host their third-ever opening round NCAA Tournament matches, and first since 1986.

The #5-seeded Ducks also sport their highest-ever NCAA seeding after they scored a best-ever Pac-12 runner-up finish.

UO first faces Big Sky champion Northern Colorado (24-10, 14-6) at 8 p.m. on Friday. The Bears were a surprise Big Sky tourney winner last weekend en route to their fourth straight 20-win season.

Immediately before at Matthew Knight Arena at 5:30 p.m. on Friday, Atlantic-10 champion Dayton (25-7, 14-0) will face Pepperdine (20-11, 8-8) – an ‘Elite Eight’ advancer last year. The teams met earlier this year and Dayton won 3-1 at home in the season-opening Flyer Classic.

On Saturday, the NCAA First-Round winners play each other in the NCAA Second Round at 8 p.m., and the winner will advance to next weekend’s Omaha Regional (December 7-8).


2008-09 Galen Rupp (Track & Field)
2008-09 Nicole Dobryznski (Soccer)
2009-10 Keshia Baker (Track & Field)
2009-10 Nicole Blood (Cross Country)
2010-11 Alexandra Kosinski (Cross Country)
2010-11 Jack Dukeminier (Golf)
2011-12 Amanda Johnson (Basketball)
2011-12 Brianne Thiesen (Track & Field)
2012-13 Katherine Fischer (Volleyball)


2007-08 Angie Pressey Cal
2008-09 Cynthia Barboza, Stanford
2009-10 Jill Collymore, Washington
2010-11 Jill Sawatzky, Oregon State
2011-12 Tarah Murrey, California
2012-13 Katherine Fischer, Oregon

- -

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks