Don't have an account? Click Here
Theisen Set for Bowerman Trophy Ceremony Presentation
Release Date: 12/18/2012
Print RSS
Related Links

EUGENE, Ore. - Seven-time NCAA Champion Brianne Theisen is one of three finalists for the 2012 Bowerman Trophy. The highest honor given to the most outstanding athletes in collegiate track & field will be bestowed Wednesday night at the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Association's annual convention in Orlando, Fla.

The Bowerman Trophy ceremony will be webcast live on beginning at 4 p.m. Pacific Time. The Bowerman Red Carpet Show will open things at 3:30 PT.

Theisen will be joined by finalists Brigetta Barrett of Arizona and Kimberlyn Duncan of Louisiana State. The men's finalists are Cam Levins (Southern Utah), Tony McQuay (Florida) and Andrew Riley (Illinois).

In advance of the Bowerman Trophy ceremony, here are some helpful links:

And here is Theisen's summary from the USTFCCCA:

Combined Events, Humboldt, Saskatchewan (Humboldt Collegiate Institute)

Theisen added two more NCAA titles to her trophy case in 2012 by again winning national crowns in the indoor pentathlon and outdoor heptathlon. It was Theisen's third claim to national glory in both events. Among NCAA Division I women, Theisen is now tied for fourth on the all-time championship-titles list, including relays and across both indoor and outdoor track & field. She only trails Texas' Carlette Guidry (12), Texas' Suziann Reid (10), and Wisconsin's Suzy Favor (9) in career national crowns.

Indoors, Theisen won the national crown with 4,536 points, joining Arizona State's Jacquelyn Johnson (2006-07-08) as the only other three-time champion in the event.

Outdoors, she won with a personal best and second-best score in collegiate and NCAA meet history - 6,440 points, joining Houston's Jolanda Jones (1986-87-89) and Arizona State's Jacquelyn Johnson (2006-07-08) as a three-time heptathlon titlists. Theisen used personal bests in the 100 hurdles (13.30), shot put (42-4¾, 12.92m), long jump (20-7¼, 6.28m), and javelin (152-2, 46.38m) to compile her winning score.

In January, at Texas A&M's Mondo Challenge, Theisen broke her own collegiate record in the pentathlon for the third time with a tally of 4,555. In that event's high jump portion, Theisen cleared 6-2 (1.88m) and finished the season tied for second among all collegians with that mark. Theisen's 4,555 also broke the Canadian record of 4,550 that was set in 1982.

The Pac-12 Field Athlete of the Year, she won the Pac-12 title in the heptathlon (6,353) for the third time. Theisen was also named the USTFCCCA Indoor and Outdoor National Field Athlete of the Year.

Theisen also completed the heptathlon at the Canadian Olympic Trials and finished second to make her first Olympic team. Theisen scored 6,393 points behind Jessica Zelinka who reset her own Canadian record with 6,599.

Theisen, the first Oregon woman to be named a finalist for The Bowerman, was also an academic All-America selection for the first time in 2012.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks