Don't have an account? Click Here
Three-time Indoor Champs Start Season at Blue and Orange Opener
Release Date: 01/10/2013
Print RSS
Related Links

The Oregon men's and women's track and field teams open the 2013 indoor season Saturday, Jan. 12 at Boise State's Blue and Orange Opener in Nampa, Idaho.
 Competition begins at 8:30 a.m. PST at the Idaho Center.

The Duck women are the three-time defending NCAA Champions, and return 39 of 49 points from their 2012 title team, losing only Brianne Theisen's 10-point heptathlon win. Among those returning for 2013 are past national champions Jordan Hasay (mile, 3,000 meters) and English Gardner (60 meters), as well as All-Americans Anne Kesselring, Becca Friday, Phyllis Francis, Chizoba Okodogbe, Laura Roesler, Allie Woodward, Katie Conlon and Alexi Pappas.

The men will be led by All-Americans Mike Berry, Johnathan Cabral, Sam Crouser, Trevor Dunbar, Mac Fleet, Elijah Greer, Boru Guyota, Dakotah Keys and Parker Stinson.

The Women of Oregon are No. 3 in the USTFCCCA preseason poll, while the men check in at No. 5.

Look for several Ducks to make either their Oregon debuts or their indoor debuts on Saturday. For the men, Jordan Latt (200, 400), Bradley Laubacher (high jump), Matt Hidalgo (pole vault), Brett Johnson (800), Blake Kemp (60 hurdles, pole vault, long jump) and Patrick Todd (800) will don the Oregon singlet for the first time, while Jillian Weir (shot put, weight throw) will do likewise for the women.

Laubacher is the only true freshman among the group; the Bend, Ore., native won the 2012 Oregon state title for Summit High School. Hidalgo is a redshirt freshman from Banks, Ore., while Kemp is a redshirt freshman from Coos Bay, Ore.

The rest of the newcomers are transfers: Latt (sophomore, Tigard, Ore.) is from Lane Community College, Johnson (junior, Ocean City, N.J.) and Todd (senior, Dallas, Texas) are both from Virginia and Weir (sophomore, Sunnyvale, Calif.) is from Long Beach State.

First-time indoor competitors for the Ducks include freshmen Jenna Prandini (Clovis, Calif.) in the 60 and 200 and Daphne Chambers (Springfield, Ore.) in the weight throw for the women and sophomore Sam Crouser (Gresham, Ore.) in the shot put and senior Chris Stubbs (Eugene, Ore.) in the 200 and 400 for the men.

Of the returning Ducks, All-Americans Mike Berry, Johnathan Cabral, Boru Guyota, Dakotah Keys, Phyllis Francis, Chizoba Okodogbe and Laura Roesler are all among the entries for Saturday.

Berry is in the 60 and 200, Cabral is in the 60 and the 60 hurdles, Guyota is in the 800, Keys is in the 60 hurdles, pole vault and long jump, Francis is in the 200, Okodogbe is in the 60 and 200 and Roesler is in the 200 and 400.

Other men to watch include Arthur Delaney in the 60 and 200, Trevor Ferguson in the 60 hurdles and long jump, Jack Galpin in the 200 and 400, Austin Ouderkirk in the pole vault, Tyler Pinkney in the long jump and triple jump and Miles Walk in the weight throw.

For the women, keep an eye on Laura Bobek in the shot put and weight throw, Sammie Clark and Kortney Ross in the pole vault, Lauren Crockett and Chancey Summers in the high jump, Alexandria Davidson in the 60 and 200, Claudia Francis in the 400, Alyssa Monteverde in the 600, 60 hurdles and long jump and Maggie Pietka in the triple jump.

For live results, check OR (results will become live Saturday morning). Final results will also be posted on

Historic Hayward Field will host the 2013 NCAA Championships June 5-8. It will be the 11th time that the historic venue has played host to the national meet. Previously, Hayward Field hosted the NCAA Championships in 1962, 1964, 1972, 1978, 1984, 1988, 1991, 1996, 2001, 2010. Only Chicago, with 13 championships between 1921 and 1936, has hosted more NCAA meets.

In addition to the annual Prefontaine Classic, Hayward Field has recently served as host to the 2008 and 2012 U.S. Olympic Trials and the 2009 and 2011 USA Track & Field Championships.

Eugene will again host the NCAA Championships in 2014, as well as the IAAF World Junior Championships.

For more information on the NCAA Championships, go to

Three Ducks are listed on the 2013 Bowerman Watch lists. English Gardner is one of 10 student-athletes on the women's watch list, while Jordan Hasay and Mike Berry fall into the "also receiving mention" category for the women and men, respectively.

The 2013 season finds seven school record holders on the men's and women's rosters as the year opens. For the women, English Gardner has the 60 meter mark (7.12), Anne Kesselring owns the mile (4:32.61), Jordan Hasay has the 3,000 (9:03.95) and Phyllis Francis holds the 600 (1:27.38).

On the men's side, Mike Berry owns the 400 (45.93), Mac Fleet has the mark in the mile (3:57.70) and Elijah Greer has the 600 (1:18.01).

The Women of Oregon are the three-time defending indoor national champions and return 39 of 49 points from their 2012 title. That number includes national 60 meter champion English Gardner, as well as Jordan Hasay (third, mile; fourth, 3,000), Phyllis Francis (fourth, 400) and Becca Friday (fourth, mile) as well as the entire runner-up distance medley relay team (Friday, Chizoba Okodogbe, Laura Roesler, Anne Kesselring). The only scorer to graduate from last year is pentathlon champion Brianne Theisen. The lone returning men's point scorer is Mike Berry, who was third in the 400 a year ago.

Led by a courageous effort by seniors Jordan Hasay, Alexi Pappas and Katie Conlon, the Women of Oregon captured their first NCAA cross country national title since 1987 last November in Louisville's E.P. "Tom" Sawyer State Park. Hasay led an impressive pack of Ducks who were in the race's top 50 nearly the entire 6,000 meter distance. Oregon ended up winning easily with 114 points, followed by Providence with 183, Stanford with 198 and Florida State with 202. Hasay looked strong in the lead pack throughout, only falling to Iowa State's Betsy Saina and Abbey D'Agostino of Dartmouth at the tape. After a sprint to the finish, Saina was the 2012 individual champion in 19:27.9, followed by D'Agostino and Hasay both in 19:28.6. Hasay, from Arroyo Gande, Calif., willed her teammates around the course in impressive fashion. Pappas, a transfer from Dartmouth, ran just a step off the lead pack the entire race, and finished eighth in 19:43.9. Conlon was the surprise of the day for the Ducks. The transfer from NAIA Jamestown College in North Dakota had been the Ducks' fifth or sixth runner during the regular season, but put on a strong kick over the final third of the race, passing a couple dozen runners to place 39th in 20:15.0. Then it was freshman Allie Woodward coming to the line as Oregon's fourth runner. The Green Bay, Wis., native was 44th overall in 20:19.5. Freshman Annie Leblanc capped the scoring for the Ducks, finishing 68th in 20:31.5. Oregon also had senior Sarah Penney 105th in 20:50.7 and freshman Abbey Leonardi 162nd in 21:12.2. It was the third NCAA women's cross country title in school history. The other came in 1987 and 1983 under coach Tom Heinonen.

The 2012 Women's Cross Country national title was the 20th NCAA championship in school history. The others are men's outdoor track & field in 1962, 1964, 1965, 1970 and 1984, women's outdoor track & field in 1985, men's indoor track & field in 2009, women's indoor track & field in 2010, 2011 and 2012, men's cross country in 1971, 1973, 1974, 1977, 2007 and 2008, women's cross country in 1983 and 1987, and men's basketball in 1939. Oregon's acrobatics and tumbling team also won NCATA national titles in 2011-12.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks