Don't have an account? Click Here
Pac-10 Champ Jones Chosen for Hall of Honor
Release Date: 02/21/2014
Print RSS
Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – Frederick Jones, the high-flying captain of Oregon’s 2002 Pac-10 championship and NCAA Elite Eight team, has been chosen for the Pac-12 Men’s Basketball Hall of Honor. Jones and 11 other conference greats will be inducted during a ceremony on March 14 prior to the semifinal games at the 2014 Pac-12 Men’s Basketball Tournament held at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nev.

Jones, a former NBA Slam Dunk champion, led Oregon to the 2002 Pac-10 regular season title and the Elite Eight of the NCAA Tournament. The league title was the first outright Conference championship for Oregon in 63 years. Jones was an All-Pac-10 selection and a third-team All-American by Basketball Times who averaged 18.6 points and 5.4 rebounds as a senior in 2001-02, scoring 650 points that year for the third-most in UO single-season history.

He also had 63 steals, which tied the school record at the time.

He was a member of the 2000 Ducks’ team that was UO’s first NCAA Tournament squad since 1995. Jones, who lettered from 1999-2002, finished his Oregon career as the only player in school history ranked in the top 10 among eight different career categories.

At the time of his graduation, Jones ranked fifth in scoring with 1,644 points, seventh in field goals (554), fifth in three-pointers (147), sixth in free throws (389), sixth in free-throw percentage (.805), third in assists (367), second in steals (148) and fourth in blocked shots (74).

He remains ranked in most of those categories some 12 years after his final game. He now stands tied for seventh in points, fifth in steals, tied for fifth in blocked shots, seventh in assists, seventh in free throws and 10th in field goals.

Jones was a 2002 first-round NBA Draft choice, going to the Indiana Pacers as the 14th overall pick. He played eight seasons in the NBA with Indiana, Toronto, Portland, New York and the Los Angeles Clippers. Jones won the NBA’s 2004 Slam Dunk competition as a member of the Pacers.

Joining Jones in the 2014 Pac-12 Hall of Honor will be Luke Walton (Arizona), Verl Heap (Arizona State), David Butler (California), Ken Charlton (Colorado), Lee Harman (Oregon State), Mark Madsen (Stanford), Tyus Edney (UCLA), Wayne Carlander (USC), Billy McGill (Utah), Brandon Roy (Washington) and Ed Gayda (Washington State).


Ducks On Pac-12 Networks