Don't have an account? Click Here
Ceo, Hawkins Make Player of the Year Cut
Release Date: 04/09/2014
Print RSS
Related Links

EUGENE, Ore. - Oregon third baseman Courtney Ceo and pitcher Cheridan Hawkins each made the cut when USA Softball cut its Player of the Year list down to just 25 names, the organization announced on Wednesday.

The award, now in its 13th season, honors the best collegiate softball player in the country, regardless of class or position.

This year’s top-25 list is comprised of 12 seniors, 10 juniors and three sophomores from 16 different schools.

The Ducks are one of nine programs to have two players make the cut.

The USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award is voted on by coaching representatives from 11 Div. I conferences in the 15 ASA Regions, members of the media who consistently cover Div. I softball across the country as well as past winners of the award.

The previous winners of the award are UCLA catcher Stacey Nuveman (2002), Texas pitcher Cat Osterman (2003, 2005 and 2006), Florida State pitcher Jessica Van der Linden (2004), Tennessee pitcher Monica Abbott (2007), Virginia Tech pitcher Angela Tincher (2008), Washington pitcher Danielle Lawrie (2009 and 2010), Stanford shortstop Ashley Hansen (2011), and Oklahoma pitcher Keilani Ricketts (2012 and 2013).

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks