Don't have an account? Click Here
UO to make seventh straight regional appearance
Release Date: 04/28/2014
Print RSS
Related Links

EUGENE, Ore. – The Oregon women’s golf team will make its seventh consecutive regional appearance, earning the No. 11 seed in the NCAA West Regional, the NCAA announced Monday. The west regional will be hosted by the University of Washington at the Tumble Creek Club at Suncadia Resort in Cle Elum, Wash., which is 80 miles east of Seattle.

The regionals consist of 72 teams overall with 24 at each region. The central regional is hosted by Oklahoma State in Stillwater, Okla., and the east regional is hosted by Florida State in Tallahassee, Fla. The top eight teams from each regional will advance to the NCAA Championships, May 20-23, in Tulsa, Okla.

Head coach Ria Scott has guided the Ducks to NCAA Regionals in all five seasons at Oregon. As a program, the Ducks are making their 18th regional bid. The Ducks will be looking to advance to the NCAA Championships for the third time under Scott and for the 12th time overall.

“We’re excited to be making another regional appearance and look forward to trying to qualify to the championships for a second straight year,” said Scott. “We’re the 11th seed in the field, but we know that doesn’t mean anything once the round starts.”

Top-ranked USC earned the top seed in the NCAA West Region. In order of their seeding, the west region will also consist of Arizona State, Oklahoma, Washington, Clemson, Wake Forest, Northwestern, Michigan State, Iowa State, GRU-Augusta, Oregon, Texas A&M, UC Davis, Denver, San Diego State, Wisconsin, Gonzaga, Notre Dame, Tennessee, Chattanooga, New Mexico, New Mexico State, Portland State and Detroit.

The field consists of eight conference champions and nine teams ranked in the top 25 by Golfstat. Tumble Creek Club is a Tom Doak designed course that was recently named one of the top private courses in America by Golf Digest.

The Ducks finished in the top five in eight out of 13 tournaments this season, posting a season round average of 297.5. That average ranks as the best season average in program history by a stroke and a half. UO’s season was highlighted by winning the Juli Inkster Spartan Invitational and placing runner-up at the UNM Dick McGuire Invitational and the Westbrook Spring Invitational. UO also recorded five of the top 12 team round scores in program history and four of the top eight team tournament scores in program history.

The Ducks were led by All-Pac-12 selections in junior Cassy Isagawa and freshman Cathleen Santoso. Isagawa was named to the all-conference second team, marking her third career All-Pac-12 honor. The Wailuku, Hawaii, native has a team-best 72.5 round average with seven top 10 finishes and 16 rounds at or below par. Santoso, a native of Sydney, Australia, earned honorable mention accolades after posting a 74.6 round average in her rookie campaign. Santoso tallied top 20 finishes in eight tournaments this season.

UO was also led by, in order of their respective round averages, sophomore Caroline Inglis (73.9), freshman Marcella Pranovia (75.9), junior Cali Hipp (76.6) and senior Raphaela Dyer (79.3).

Last season, the Ducks earned the No. 14 seed in the NCAA West Regional, hosted by Stanford. The Ducks tied for sixth to advance to the NCAA Championships. The Ducks carded rounds of 292, 297 and 300 for a three-round total of 889. Isagawa, Inglis and Hipp provided UO’s top three finishes at regionals last season.

West Regional
(The West regional will be played at Tumble Creek Club at Suncadia Resort in Cle Elum, Washington. Washington will serve as the host institution. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.)

1. Southern California
2. Arizona State University
3. Oklahoma (Big 12)
4. Washington
5. Clemson
6. Wake Forest
7. Northwestern
8. Michigan State (Big Ten)
9. Iowa State
10. GRU-Augusta
11. Oregon
12. Texas A&M
13. UC Davis (Big West)
14. Denver
15. San Diego State
16. Wisconsin
17. Gonzaga
18. Notre Dame
19. Tennessee
20. Chattanooga (Southern Conference)
21. New Mexico (Mountain West)
22. New Mexico State (Western Athletic Conference)
23. Portland State (Big Sky)
24. Detroit (Horizon)

1. Alison Knowles, Louisiana-Monroe
2. Regan De Guzman, San Jose State
3. Clariss Guce, Cal State Northridge
4. Fabiola Arriaga, UTSA
5. Madchen Ly, Fresno State
6. Alexandra White, BYU

East Regional
(The East regional will be played at SouthWood Golf Club in Tallahassee, Florida and will be hosted by Florida State. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.)

1. Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)
2. South Carolina
3. Stanford (Pac-12)
4. Vanderbilt (Southeastern Conference)
5. Pepperdine (West Coast Conference)
6. UCF
7. Virginia
8. Auburn
9. NC State
10. Florida State
11. Kentucky
12. Tulane (Conference USA)
13. Louisville (American Athletic Conference)
14. Baylor
15. East Tennessee State (Atlantic Sun)
16. Georgia
17. Campbell (Big South)
18. East Carolina
19. Texas State
20. College of Charleston (Colonial Athletic Association)
21. Troy (Sun Belt)
22. Murray State (Ohio Valley)
23. Seton Hall (Big East )
24. Alabama State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

1. Lori Beth Adams, North Carolina-Wilmington
2. Ellen Ceresko, Penn State
3. Lacey Fears, Mercer
4. Kaew Preamuchuen, Kennesaw State
5. Abby Newton, Mississippi
6. Christina Vosters, Penn State

Central Regional
(The Central regional will be played at Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Oklahoma. Oklahoma State will host. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.)

2. Arkansas
3. Alabama
4. Arizona
5. LSU
6. Oklahoma State
7. Florida
8. North Carolina
9. Ohio State
10. Miami (Fla.)
11. Mississippi State
12. California
13. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
14. Kansas
15. Texas
16. UNLV
17. Colorado
18. SMU
19. Minnesota
20. Harvard (Ivy Group)
21. Lamar (Southland)
22. Wichita State (Missouri Valley)
23. LIU-Brooklyn (Northeast Conference)
24. Siena (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)

1. Aurora Kan, Purdue
2. Sanna Nuutinen, TCU
3. Jenna Hague, Ball State
4. Ember Schuldt, Illinois
5. Kimmie Hill, Texas Tech
6. Stephanie Miller, Illinois

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks