Don't have an account? Click Here
Ducks Prepare for USATF Juniors at Hayward Field
Release Date: 07/03/2014
Print RSS
Related Links

EUGNE, Ore. - Five Oregon athletes and six Oregon signees will compete at Hayward Field this weekend during the USATF Junior Championships, July 5-6, with hopes of making the national team and representing their country at the World Junior Championships later this month.

Oregon freshmen Chris Mulverhill (steeplechase), Cullen Prena (shot put, discus, hammer), Alec Smith (800), Cole Walsh (pole vault) and Maggie Schmaedick (5,000) will be in action.

Fans will also be able to get a look at signees Ashlee Moore (100 hurdles, high jump), Raevyn Rogers (800), Ariana Washington (100, 200), Nate Moore (long jump, triple jump), Jhet Janis (javelin) and John Nizich (javelin) who will join the team for the 2014-15 season.

The top two finishers in each event will advance to the World Junior Championships, July 22-27, pending that they have also achieved a World Qualifying Standard.

Schmaedick will be competing in her first US Junior Championships and will have the luxury to do so in the town in which she grew up. The Sheldon High School graduate enter the weekend with the top-seeded time in the 5,000 (16:18.24), set during her win at the Oregon Relays.

Washington also enters with the top qualifying time in the 100 (11.22), and has the potential to top the podium in both the 100 and 200 she sits second in the longer of the sprints, one hundredth of a second behind Iowa’s Brittany Brown.

A full list of the field can be found HERE.

The meet, which is free to the public, will begin Saturday at 2:30 p.m., and will almost immediately get the Oregon competitors involved as Prena, who will be competing for the first time in an Oregon uniform, will throw the discus at 2:40 p.m. The first day will consist of a mix between preliminary rounds and finals with the second day, which begins at 2:15 p.m., is comprised almost entirely of finals. For a look at the complete schedule, click HERE.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks