Don't have an account? Click Here
Smith Named to All-Century Team
Release Date: 02/29/2016
Print RSS
Related Links

EUGENE, Ore. – Former Oregon forward and head coach Bev Smith was named to the Pac-12 women’s basketball all-century team, the league announced on Monday.

The all-century team, which is made up of 20 total players, includes eight guards and 12 forwards. 

Current UO assistant coach and former Stanford great Nicole Powell was also named to the all-century team.

Smith was a first team all-Northwest Basketball League selection every year of her career, running from 1979-1982, and was player of the year in 1980, 1981 and 1982. She was a Kodak All-American in 1981 and 1982 and an academic All-American in 1980 and 1982.

The forward ranks No. 3 at UO all-time with 2,063 points, is second with 1,362 rebounds and second with 443 assists. She tallied a career-high 38 points against Montana in 1981 and 26 rebounds against Alaska-Anchorage in 1978.

She still owns the program’s single-game record with 11 steals at Washington on Jan. 22, 1981 and the career record of 349. Smith has the top three single-season steals marks in UO history – 95 in both 1979 and 1980 plus 94 steals in 1981.

After her legendary Oregon career, Smith played overseas in Italy for 15 seasons. She became Oregon’s head coach for the 2001-02 season, guiding the Ducks to a WNIT title and a 22-13 record.

The Salmon Arms, British Columbia, native is a member of the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame, the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame and was included in the University of Oregon’s inaugural Athletic Hall of Fame class in 1992.

Smith played in three Olympic games (1980, 1984 and 1996) with Canada and later coached the Canadian national team from 1997-2001 before taking over at Oregon.

“Bev Smith was the Canadian women’s team’s Larry Bird,” former national women’s team coach Don McCrae said.

A total of 61 panelists, consisting of media members, Pac-12 staff, coaches and players, were responsible for the selection of the team. Each panelist ranked their top twelve in each category, with their top selection receiving 12 points, their second selection receiving 11 points, etc. The points were then tallied across the entire panel, and the top vote-getters formed the All-Century Team. Only players who were active at their university while the university was a member of the Pac-12 were eligible. 


Jennifer Azzi, Stanford (1986-1990)
Cynthia Cooper, USC (1982-1986)
Candice Wiggins, Stanford (2004-2008)
Briann January, ASU (2005-2009)
Kate Starbird, Stanford (1993-1997)
Sonja Henning, Stanford (1987-1991)
Jamie Redd, Washington (1995-1999)
Molly Goodenbour, Stanford (1989-1993)

Cheryl Miller, USC (1982-1986)
Lisa Leslie, USC (1990-1994)
Ann Meyers, UCLA (1974-1978)
Denise Curry, UCLA (1979-1982)
Chiney Ogwumike, Stanford (2010-2014)
Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Stanford (2008-2012)
Bev Smith, Oregon (1978-1982)
Pam McGee, USC  (1980-1984)
Natalie Williams, UCLA (1990-1994)
Nicole Powell, Stanford (2000-2004)
Tina Thompson, USC (1993-1997)
Carol Menken, OSU (1979-1981)

Player of the Century:
Cheryl Miller, USC (1982-1986)

Coach of the Century:
Tara VanDerveer, Stanford (1985-present)

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks