Don't have an account? Click Here
Steele Honored as Division I National Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year
Release Date: 03/18/2009
Print RSS
Related Links

NEW ORLEANS After leading his Oregon Ducks to their first ever Division I indoor track and field national title, Dan Steele was honored by his peers as the Men’s USTFCCCA Division I Indoor Track and Field National Coach of the Year, announced on Wednesday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Steele, working in concert with Associate Athletic Director Vin Lananna, helped Oregon score 54 points to easily outdistance second-place Florida. The Oregon coaches guided Ashton Eaton's victory in the heptathlon and Galen Rupp's amazing wins in the 3,000 and 5,000 meters, not to mention his anchor leg of the winning distance medley relay team, which also featured outstanding performances from A.J. Acosta, Chad Barlow and Andrew Wheating.

J.J Clark of Tennessee was honored as the Beverly Kearney Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year after leading his Tennessee Lady Volunteers to their third National Championship and first since 2005. In addition to the men’s and women’s head coaches being honored, the USTFCCCA honored the men’s and women’s assistant coaches of the year.

Florida’s Brian O’Neal and Texas A&M’s Vince Anderson received the men’s and women’s assistant coaches of the year honors, respectively.

O’Neal is in his first season with the Gators and coached freshman Christian Taylor to the triple jump title at the NCAA meet and a sixth-place finish in the long jump. O’Neal also coaches Dennis Martin, who finished seventh in the 60 meter hurdles. Taylor was named the SEC Male Freshman and Field Athlete of the Year earlier this indoor season.

Anderson-coached athletes provided 90 of the 130 points the Aggies scored en route to their third straight Big 12 indoor title while producing six winning efforts at the conference meet. At the NCAA Championships, Anderson coached Porscha Lucas to an All-American effort and helped guide the women’s 4x400 meter relay team to a national championship.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks