Don't have an account? Click Here
Anderson Named Pac-10 All-Conference
Release Date: 06/03/2010
Print RSS
Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – Oregon’s Tyler Anderson became the first Duck named to the Pac-10 All Conference Team in 39 years; it was announced by Commissioner Larry Scott today.

Anderson, Oregon’s Friday-night starter for 2010, is 7-4 heading into the postseason with a 2.76 ERA (4th Pac-10) and 101 strikeouts (4th Pac-10; T-32nd nation).

In 15 starts, the left-hander has pitched a total of 94 and 2/3 innings, issuing just 31 walks. He is also holding opposing batters to a .215 clip (5th Pac-10).

Along with teammate Scott McGough, Anderson also received the exclusive invitation to attend 2010 USA Baseball Collegiate National Team Trials, which runs from July 5-11 in Cary, North Carolina.

The Las Vegas native got the 2010 season off to a successful start, pitching 5 and 2/3 innings on the mound and surrendering three runs on four hits, while also striking out three in UO’s 7-3 upset at No. 4 Cal State Fullerton in the season opener on Feb. 19.

Anderson then went on a three start winning streak, claiming victories over Fresno State, Seattle and Nevada. The streak included a 21-inning scoreless streak. Anderson first pitched eight shutout innings, scattering seven hits while striking out 10 in Oregon’s 7-2 victory at Fresno State on March 5. He extended his shutout streak to 16 innings, after throwing eight scoreless innings and scattering three hits after striking out 11 without issuing a walk in a 5-0 victory over Seattle on March 12.

Anderson’s streak advanced to 21 consecutive innings before allowing two runs in a 16-2 victory over Nevada on March 19.

But perhaps his best performance of the season concluded as an undeserved loss. Anderson tossed a one-run complete game against then No. 1 Arizona State, and held the Sun Devils to just four hits in the first complete game of his career while fanning 10 and walking no one. But Oregon’s offense was shutout in a 1-0 defeat on April 1.

Anderson is the first Oregon player to receive Pac-10 All-Conference honors since Collegiate Player of the Year Dave Roberts was named to the Pac-8 first team in 1971.

Oregon also had seven players receive Pac-10 honorable mention accolades: freshman third baseman J.J. Altobelli, sophomore right-hander Scott McGough, freshman outfielder Steven Packard, sophomore second baseman Danny Pulfer, senior catcher Eddie Rodriguez, sophomore shortstop KC Serna and senior pitcher Zack Thornton.

The Ducks (38-22) are currently in Norwich, Conn., preparing to play in their first NCAA Regional since the program was reinstated.

Oregon, the regional’s No. 3 seed, will play 17th-ranked and No. 2 seed as well as tournament host, Connecticut, at 4 p.m. PT on Friday at Dodd Memorial Stadium.

Links can be found by clicking HERE for video streaming and live stats.

Arizona State sophomore second baseman Zack MacPhee was named the 2010 Pacific-10 Conference Baseball Player of the Year, while teammate junior right-hander Seth Blair earned Pitcher of the Year honors.

California junior second baseman Brian Guinn was as the selected the Defensive Player of the Year, and Stanford freshman third baseman Kenny Diekroeger was named Freshman of the Year.

 Arizona State’s Tim Esmay garnered Coach of the Year honors.

The awards are determined by a vote of the league’s coaches.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks