Don't have an account? Click Here

From The Dugout - Oregon Baseball Blog

From The Dugout: Duck Duo In Finals

August 21, 2010

Soon-to-be sophomores Ryan Hambright and Andrew Mendenhall have helped lead the Rochester Honkers to the 2010 Northwoods League Championship series.

The Honkers reached the series by sweeping the St. Cloud River Bats in two games to win the North Division.

On Tuesday, the Honkers defeated St. Cloud by the score of 8-2 as Mendenhall was 3-for-4 from the plate with two runs scored.  Rochester clinched its place in the championship series with a 5-2 victory on Wednesday night as Hambright recorded a walk and RBI, while Mendenall was 1-for-4 with a walk and run scored.

The Honkers are the defending NWL champs, and are pursuing their second consecutive championship crown after Scott McGough, Mitch Karraker and Danny Pulfer were on the title squad in 2009.

The Honkers dropped the first game of the NWL championship series to the Eau Claire Express, 6-0, last night. Game Two is set for 7:05 p.m. CT (5:05 pm PT) from Rochester tonight. Fans can follow live stats HERE.

Mitch Karraker and the Bend Elks squandered an early three-run lead and fell, 6-5, to the Wenatchee AppleSox in the deciding game of the best-of-three West Coast League Championship Series Tuesday night in Wenatchee. It was fourth title for the AppleSox in the six-year history of the WCL, and the second in a row.

Incoming freshman Tyler Kuresa was named the Horizon Air Summer Series Top Prospect, it was announced on Thursday.
Kuresa was drafted by the Minnesota Twins in the 11th round of the 2010 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft, but will suit up for the Ducks in 2011. Kuresa played for the Marysville Gold Sox before playing for the Oahu Paddlers of the Hawaii Collegiate Baseball League.

The Horizon Air Summer series is a unique eleven-week long competition among elite college summer wood bat baseball clubs from the Western United States. Fulfilling a mission of keen competition, the Horizon Air Summer Series crosses collegiate league boundaries to form a "league of leagues".