Don't have an account? Click Here
UO takes biggest title haul in opening day of NCATAs
Release Date: 04/24/2014
Print RSS
Related Links

AZUSA, Calif. -Top-seeded Oregon opened the National Collegiate Acrobatics and Tumbling Association National Championship, Thursday with a strong showing in the individual event finals. The Ducks won six event titles and had three student-athletes earn All-America honors at the Felix Event Center in Azusa, Calif., in the opening day of the postseason tournament.

Juniors Tara Lubert and Nicole Erlichman, and sophomore Chandler White were named to the NCATA All-America team, while Erlichman was honored with the Most Outstanding Athlete Award. In the first four seasons of the NCATA, head coach Felecia Mulkey’s Ducks have won 30 event titles, earned 11 individual All-America honors with two athlete of the year winners.

“We’re excited to get the national championship started with a positive result today in the individual event finals,” said Mulkey. “I’m proud of the entire team, our three All-Americans and Athlete of the Year winner Nicole Erlichman. We’ll quickly refocus for the team tournament, beginning with Alderson-Broaddus tomorrow.”

The Ducks won 6-of-15 events, claiming the most titles of any school in the nine-team field. Second-seeded and hosts Azusa Pacific took five titles, followed with two from Gannon and one each from Quinnipiac and Baylor.

The team competition will get underway on Friday as Oregon is in pursuit of its fourth straight NCATA National Championship. The Ducks will meet eighth-seeded Alderson Broaddus in the quarterfinals at 3 p.m. (PT) tomorrow. The Battlers defeated ninth-seeded King University, 257.550-220.985, in today’s play-in meet.

A junior from Folsom, Calif., Erlichman has been named an All-American in consecutive seasons. Lubert, a junior from Yorba Linda, Calif., has now earned postseason accolades in all three seasons at Oregon. Lubert was named NCATA Newcomer of the Year in 2012, and followed by earning All-America and Performer of the Year honors last season. White, a sophomore from Valencia, Calif., earns the first All-America honors of her young career.

The Ducks were the only team in the field to win a title in all events. Oregon opened by taking the title in acro five-element, which was the opening event of the evening. The Ducks followed by besting the field in the third pyramid and second toss heats. UO won 3-of-6 tumbling passes - tri, quad and open - to finish with six individual event titles for the second straight season.

The NCATA All-America team consisted of 12 student-athletes. In addition to Erlichman’s Athlete of the Year Award, the NCATA issued three additional postseason honors. Oregon alum and current Hawaii Pacific head coach Keenyn Won was named Coach of the Year. Quinnipiac’s Kelsey Rule was named NCATA Freshman of the Year. Gannon’s Erin Harris won the first-ever Louise Goodrum Academic Award.

Quarterfinal action will begin at 12:45 p.m. (PT) Friday with fourth-seeded Baylor and fifth-seeded Quinnipiac, who will meet either Oregon our Alderson Broaddus in the semifinals with a victory. On the bottom side of the bracket, second-seeded Azusa Pacific will meet seventh-seeded Gannon, and third-seeded Quinnipiac will meet sixth-seeded Hawaii Pacific.


Acro 5-element - Oregon
Acro 6-element - Gannon
Acro 7-element - Gannon
Pyramid 1 - Azusa Pacific
Pyramid 2 - Quinnipiac
Pyramid 3 - Oregon
Toss 1 - Azusa Pacific
Toss 2 - Oregon
Toss 3 - Azusa Pacific
Tumbling duo - Azusa Pacific
Tumbling trio - Oregon
Tumbling quad - Oregon
Tumbling ariel - Azusa Pacific
Tumbling 6-element - Baylor
Tumbling open - Oregon


Laurie Williamson, Baylor
Nancy Miceli, HPU
Malyssa Barbasa, HPU
Chandler White, Oregon
Jessica Laughton, APU
Kayla McCormack, Qunnipiac
Tara Lubert, Oregon
Danielle DiCarlo, Fairmont
Kelsey Rule, Quinnipiac
Nicole Erlichman, Oregon
Brooke Artz, Quinnipiac
Emily Sanchez, APU

Most Outstanding Athlete Award
Nicle Erlichman, Oregon

Coach of the Year Award
Keenyn Won, Hawaii Pacific

NCATA Freshman of the Year
Kelsey Rule, Quinnipiac

Louise Goodrum Academic Award
Erin Harris, Gannon

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks