Don't have an account? Click Here
Plum Selected as Senior CLASS Candidate
Release Date: 08/28/2013
Print RSS
Related Links

OVERLAND Park, Kan. - Oregon setter Lauren Plum was one of thirty NCAA women’s volleyball student-athletes who selected, Wednesday, as candidates for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate volleyball.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

Plum has been a leader both on and off the court for the Ducks. The Poway, Calif., native serves as a Co-Direcor for O Heroes where she helps with the planning, organizing, and recruitment of volunteers for the 45 events the organization puts on over the academic calendar year.

Plum enters the 2013 season after being selected as an AVCA First Team All-American in 2012 as well as an honorable mention All-American in 2011. As a junior last season, she led the country in assists per set (13.36) while leading Oregon to its first NCAA finals appearance.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School , the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

Of the 30 candidates, 10 have grade point averages of 3.5 or higher and 19 are American Volleyball Coaches Association All-Americans.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2013 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

To see information on each of the candidates, go to

 Volleyball Candidates

Lindsey Butterfield, Bowling Green

Megan Campbell, Dayton

Jennifer Cross, Michigan

Taylor Akana, Siena

Megan Devin, East Tennessee State

Caitlin Dotson, Lipscomb

Chelsey Feekin, Wichita State

Jessi Greenberg, Kentucky

Natalie Hagglund, USC

Kristen Hahn, Iowa State

Emily Hartong, Hawaii

Xitlali Herrera, Texas-El Paso

Stephanie Holthus, Northwestern

Caroline Jarmoc, Kansas

Chloe Mann, Florida

Ali McCurdy, Duke

Sallie McLaurin, Oklahoma

Ashley Neff, Florida State

Lena Oliver, Western Michigan

Lauren Plum, Oregon

Ashley Potts, Western Kentucky

Kelly Reeves, UCLA

Garyn Schlatter, Portland State

Ariel Scott, Penn State

Dani Shepherd, Pennsylvania

Bailey Webster, Texas

Lauren Wicinski, Michigan State

Ashley Wittman, Minnesota

Carly Wopat, Stanford

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks