Don't have an account? Click Here
Chip Kelly Wins Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year
Release Date: 12/06/2010
Print RSS
Related Links
NEW YORK – One day after his team was selected to play in the BCS championship game, University of Oregon head coach Chip Kelly was presented with the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award by the Football Writers Association of America.

The Ducks’ second-year skipper, who was also a finalist for the honor last season, became the second Oregon head coach to receive the award named for Grambling’s legendary mentor, joining 1994 winner Rich Brooks.

On Saturday, Kelly’s Ducks wrapped up a perfect 12-0 regular season and their second straight Pac-10 title by defeating rival Oregon State, 37-20, in the 114th Civil War. The reigning Pac-10 coach of the year has a career mark of 22-3 while going 17-1 in conference play.

Second-ranked Oregon will take the nation’s top scoring offense at 49.33 points per game to Glendale, Ariz., on Jan. 10, when it faces No. 1 Auburn (13-0). The Tigers’ Gene Chizik was also one of eight finalists for the Robinson award.

The FWAA honor turned out to be Kelly’s second coaching award of the day, as he was also named regional co-coach of the year along with Stanford’s Jim Harbaugh by the American Football Coaches Association.

The AFCA selects its national coach of the year following the bowl season.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks