Don't have an account? Click Here
LaMichael James Named Heisman Trophy Finalist
Release Date: 12/06/2010
Print RSS
Related Links
NEW YORK – University of Oregon running back LaMichael James is headed to the Big Apple, having been named one of four finalists for the Heisman Trophy.

The sophomore All-America from Texarkana, Texas, is the nation’s leading rusher with 1,682 yards and also tops the NCAA in scoring, averaging two touchdowns (12.0 points) per game.

James is the only non-quarterback among the finalists, joining Stanford’s Andrew Luck, Boise State’s Kellen Moore and Auburn’s Cam Newton for Saturday’s Heisman Trophy Presentation at the Best Buy Theater. Newton is the only player among the group that Oregon has not faced over the past two seasons, but that will change when the No. 2 Ducks play the No. 1 Tigers for the BCS National Championship Jan. 10.

James, who established a Pac-10 freshman rushing standard a year ago with 1,546 yards, set the sophomore conference mark this season. He ranks second all-time at Oregon with 3,228 rushing yards and is tied for second with 36 total touchdowns.

Also a finalist for the Walter Camp Football Foundation 2010 Player of the Year and Doak Walker Award, presented annually to the nation’s top running back, James is the second Oregon player in the modern era to be considered a finalist and invited to New York. Former quarterback Joey Harrington attended the ceremony in 2001 and his fourth-place finish stands as the highest in school history.

Five UO players, including Harrington, have placed among the top ten in final Heisman Trophy voting – the most recent being quarterback Dennis Dixon, who finished fifth in 2007. Halfback Jay Graybeal was ninth in 1939, quarterback Norm Van Brocklin finished sixth in 1948 and quarterback George Shaw placed eighth in 1954.

James will attend The Home Depot College Football Awards show on Thursday at Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., before traveling to New York. Thursday’s show will be televised live on ESPN at 4 p.m. PT, while Saturday’s presentation will air live on the network at 5 p.m. PT.
Ducks On Pac-12 Networks