Don't have an account? Click Here
Kelly Earns Pac-10 Coach of the Year
Release Date: 12/07/2010
Print RSS
Related Links
WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – A day after earning the Eddie Robinson national coach of the year award in New York City, University of Oregon head coach Chip Kelly was announced as the Pac-10 conference’s coach of the year on the opposite coast.

Kelly, who also received the Pac-10 coaching award as a rookie skipper last season, guided the No. 2 Ducks to their second straight outright conference championship in 2010, securing a spot in the BCS National Championship game against top-ranked Auburn on Jan. 10 in Glendale, Ariz.

Under the Manchester, N.H., native’s tutelage, Oregon became the first team in Pac-10 history to win nine conference games and is the 12th Pac-10 squad to go unbeaten and untied on its way to the conference championship.

The Ducks are 22-3 in Kelly’s two seasons at the helm, including a 17-1 mark in Pac-10 play.

Kelly became just the fourth Pac-10 coach to receive the honor in back-to-back years, joining USC’s Larry Smith (1987-88), Washington’s Don James (1990-91) and USC’s Pete Carroll (2005-06). Former Oregon mentor Rich Brooks (1979, ’94) is the only other coach in school history to win the award.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks