Don't have an account? Click Here
Kelly Named Walter Camp Coach of the Year
Release Date: 12/20/2010
Print RSS
Related Links
NEW HAVEN, CT – Chalk up another postseason honor for University of Oregon head coach Chip Kelly, who has been named the Walter Camp 2010 Coach of the Year as selected by the nation’s 120 Football  Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors.

The second-year head man, who guided the No. 2 Ducks to a perfect 12-0 regular season mark and an upcoming trip to the BCS Championship game Jan. 10 in Glendale, Ariz., against No. 1 Auburn (13-0), is the first UO coach and third Pac-10 mentor to win the honor, awarded annually since 1967.

The Ducks lead the nation in scoring average at 49.3 points per game and rank second in total offense at 537.5 yards per contest. Defensively, Oregon is allowing just 18.4 points a game – 14th  lowest in the nation. Oregon's 12 victories are its most in 115 seasons.

Kelly is also this season's recipient of the Eddie Robinson and Sporting News national coach of the year awards while earning his second Pac-10 coaching honor in as many seasons. He is currently a finalist for the Paul "Bear" Bryant Award and Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year.

Kelly, a native New Englander who hails from Manchester, N.H., will be honored along with members of the 2010 Walter Camp All-America team, which includes UO running back LaMichael James, at the organization’s national awards banquet Jan. 15 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

From the Walter Camp Football Foundation:
Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and  football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set  plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of  play to eleven men per side.  The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks