Don't have an account? Click Here
Chip Kelly Named AP Coach of the Year
Release Date: 12/21/2010
Print RSS
Related Links
EUGENE, Ore. – It's highly doubtful that University of Oregon head coach Chip Kelly put a stocking filled with coach of the year awards on his holiday wish list, but the honors keep rolling in any way with the latest coming from the Associated Press.

The second-year mentor received 24 votes from the 60-member AP football poll panel, edging out his BCS title game counterpart, Gene Chizik of Auburn, who received 17 votes. The two will meet when the No. 2 Ducks faceoff against the top-ranked Tigers Jan. 10 in Glendale Arizona.

Kelly is the first Pac-10 coach to win the AP award since its inception in 1998. The Manchester, N.H., native's latest piece of hardware came a day after he was announced as the Walter Camp coach of the year.

Already this season's recipient of the Eddie Robinson and Sporting News national coach of the year awards, while earning his second Pac-10 coaching honor in as many seasons, Kelly is currently a finalist for the Paul "Bear" Bryant Award and Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year.

During their first 12-win season in the program's 115 seasons, the Ducks lead the nation in scoring average at 49.3 points per game and rank second in total offense at 537.5 yards per contest. Defensively, Oregon is allowing just 18.4 points a game – 14th lowest in the nation.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks