Don't have an account? Click Here
Mariota among 10 Manning Award finalists
Release Date: 11/26/2013
Print RSS
Related Links

Oregon sophomore Marcus Mariota was named a finalist Tuesday for the Manning Award, a national quarterback award that takes into account bowl results.

Mariota is sixth nationally and first in the Pac-12 with a passer rating of 171.09. His 27 passing touchdowns are tied for 10th in the nation, and he attempted a Pac-12 record 353 passes without an interception prior to last week's loss at Arizona.

Mariota also has 529 yards and nine touchdowns on the ground. His 7.15 yards per carry lead the nation among quarterbacks,

Among the 10 Manning Award finalists are Alabama's A.J. McCarron, Florida State's Jameis Winston and Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel. The freshman Winston joins Mariota and fellow sophomore Manziel as the only underclassmen under consideration.

The Manning Award is sponsored by the Sugar Bowl. The winner will be announced Jan. 8.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks