Don't have an account? Click Here
Brenner Honored as Oregon Prep Athlete of Year
Release Date: 02/13/2012
Print RSS
Related Links

PORTLAND, Ore. - University of Oregon freshman Liz Brenner and her fellow Eugene athletes and teams took home six trophies at the 2012 Oregon Sports Awards.

The following athletes and teams from Eugene received awards:

Elizabeth Brenner - Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year 6A/5A - Female
One of the greatest female athletes in Oregon prep history, Brenner concluded her career at Jesuit High School with two championships. Named state 6A basketball player of the year for the state champions, Brenner scored an average of 15.9 points per game and grabbing nine rebounds per outing; she was also first-team all-state and unanimous first-team all-tournament. In track and field, Elizabeth was state champion in shot put and second in javelin. She now plays volleyball and basketball at the University of Oregon.

Jordan Hasay - Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Female
Distance running star for the Ducks Hasay was the NCAA runner-up in cross-country, finishing just six-tenths of a second behind the winner. Third in the Pac-12 and first at the west regional in cross-country, Hasay won NCAA indoor track and field championships in the mile and 3,000-meters, along with Pac-10 crowns in the 1,500 and 5,000. At the NCAA outdoor meet, she ran fourth in the 15,000 and eighth in the 1,500. The U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association named Hasay indoor track and field athlete of the year.

Matthew Centrowitz - Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year - Male
Centrowitz introduced himself to the track and field community by winning the bronze medal at the world championships in the 1,500-meters, making him the youngest American to medal in the event. He was first at that distance at the Pac-10, NCAA and US meets and was the first University of Oregon athlete to win a US title sine Steve Prefontaine in 1971. Centrowitz owns the UO record of 3:46.46 and recently elected to turn pro.

George Pasero Teams of the Year
University of Oregon Acrobatics & Tumbling
A new sport brought a new championship to the University of Oregon. The Ducks' first-year acrobatics and tumbling team won the National championship in a tight battle with new rival, the University of Maryland. The Ducks finished with an 8-1 record in front of an appreciative home crowd at Matthew Knight Arena. The Ducks also won six individual event titles.

University of Oregon Women's Indoor Track & Field
A tradition of excellence continues as the University of Oregon women won their second consecutive NCAA indoor track and field championship. Jordan Hasay began her outstanding 2011 season with indoor titles in the mile and 3,000-meters and multi-event specialist Brianne Theisen won the pentathlon crown. The Ducks, favored to three-peat, ranked #1 in the pre-season indoor poll. The signature event of the nationals was the mile when Hasay led a 1-3-4 Duck finish with Zoe Buckman and Anne Kesselring also placing.

University of Oregon Football
In 2011 the Ducks continued an amazing run with the best three seasons in Oregon Ducks football history. The team's 12-2 finish included a thrilling Rose Bowl victory over Wisconsin, the third consecutive BCS bowl appearance for the team. The Ducks also won the inaugural PAC-12 championship game. The team's season included many other superlatives: De'Anthony Thomas collected the crystal trophy as CFPA co-kick returner of the year and was named freshman All-American; four Ducks were named all-PAC-12 first team; and offensive lineman Carson York was named an Academic All-American.

Other 2011 Oregon Sports Award winners:

Megan Rapinoe - Harry Glickman Professional Athlete of the Year - Female
Jacoby Ellsbury - Harry Glickman Professional Athlete of the Year - Male
George Pasero Teams of the Year (including the three teams listed above) - Concordia University Women's Outdoor Track & Field, Linfield College Softball, Clackamas Community College Wrestling, Oregon Institute of Technology Softball
Merritt Paulson - Slats Gill Sportsperson of the Year
Bud Ossey - Ultimate Fan Award
DNA Award - Mike Stone
DNA Award - Judy Sherman
Safeway -  Les Schwab Friend of Sports Award
Gus Arroyovera - Terry Porter make it better Award
Rod Harman - Game Changer Award
Christie Clark - Lou Burge Special Olympics Athlete of the Year
Ryan Crouser - Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year 6A/5A - Male
Sarah Bennion - Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year 4A/3A/2A/1A - Female
AJ Hedgecock - Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year 4A/3A/2A/1A - Male
Megan Fristoe - Nike - Steve Prefontaine Prep Distance Runner of the Year
Jackie Imhof - Ad Rutschman Small-College Athlete of the Year - Female
Bryant Sentman - Ad Rutschman Small-College Athlete of the Year - Male

About the Oregon Sports Awards
Hosted by Nike in the state-of-the-art, 770-seat Stanford Theatre at the Nike World Headquarters in Beaverton, Ore., the Oregon Sports Awards honor Oregon's outstanding professional and amateur athletes, teams, coaches and administrators from many levels and a wide range of sports.

Originally the Hayward Banquet of Champions, the Oregon Sports Awards was founded in 1948. In 2001, Nike, the Portland Tribune and Oregon-based sports marketing and entertainment agency SportsOne revived the event under its current name to include a stage-show, additional award categories and a new venue on the Nike campus.


Ducks On Pac-12 Networks