Don't have an account? Click Here
Five Spikers Receive Pac-12 All-Academic Laurels
Release Date: 11/23/2011
Print RSS
Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – The No. 13 University of Oregon volleyball program was again lauded for its performance in the classroom as five student-athletes were honored to various Pacific-12 Conference All-Academic Teams Wednesday.

A trio of junior outside hitters led the way as Katherine Fischer and Lauren Gross repeated as first- and second-team honorees, and Alaina Bergsma received her first second-team award.

Among the honorable mention list, junior defensive specialist Kellie Kawasaki and sophomore setter Lauren Plum added their second and first honors, respectively.

Fischer is an accounting major and entered the fall term with a 4.02 cumulative grade point average, and was the only honoree on the first and second teams that sported a +4.00 GPA.

Gross and Bergsma owned 3.83 and 3.70 GPA’s and are psychology and business majors, respectively (while GPA’s were not released for the honorable mention selections).

The Los Altos, Calif., native Fischer became the third Duck ever to win multiple first-team honors, and follows the lead of Kristin Bitter (2004, ’05, ’06) and Casey Crisler (, 1995, ’96, ’97).

Oregon’s trio of first and second-team selections tied for the best Wednesday with Oregon State (3). Three other schools had two honorees (Arizona State, California and Utah), and two schools had one selection (Colorado and Stanford).

Wednesday’s honors raised UO's tally of conference all-academic honors to 30 in seven years under head coach Jim Moore. In prior years, UO received at least three honors in 2010 (6), ‘08 (4), ‘07 (4), '06 (4) and '05 (5), and two in ‘09.

To be eligible, players must sport a 3.00 minimum grade point average, be a returnee, at least a sophomore academically, and be a starter or significant contributor.

Two weeks ago, Fischer was accorded repeat Capital One Academic All-District First-Team honors, and is now eligible for the national Academic All-America squad announced later this month. Last year, she was a Third-Team Academic All-American, and the only underclassmen selected among the three teams.

Looking ahead to this weekend’s final regular season match, No. 13 Oregon (20-8, 13-8) hosts Oregon State (16-15, 8-13) in Eugene, this Friday, November 25 at 7 p.m.

Promotions-wise, the event is a Pack Matt Night, and fans that show their Bi-Mart card at the door will get 2 for 1 admission.

Civil War football ticket holders can also show their ticket for Saturday to get in free to the Friday volleyball match.

And as any regular season match, Duck students get in for free with current student ID cards.

2011 Pac-12 All-Academic Teams
First Team
Stephanie Browne, STAN, Grad 3.95, Sociology
Katherine Fischer, ORE, Jr., 4.02, Accounting
Caitlyn Murphy, ASU, So., 3.90, Psychology/Spanish
Alyssa O’Neil, OSU, Jr., 3.89, Human Dev. & Family Sci.
Elysse Richardson, COLO, So., 3.91, Psychology
Robin Rostratter, CAL, Jr., 3.88, Media Studies
Tayla Woods , OSU RS Fr., 3.98, Psychology

Second Team
Alaina Bergsma, ORE, R-Jr., 3.70, Business
Erin Freeman, CAL, So., 3.80, Undeclared
Lauren Gross, ORE, Jr., 3.83, Psychology
Martie Massey, OSU, Jr., 3.73, Biology
Danica Mendivil, ASU, So., 3.86, Family & Human Dev.
McKenzie Odale, UTAH, Jr., 3.78, Undeclared
Erin Redd, UTAH, So., 3.74, Undeclared

Honorable Mention:  Emily Alexis, RS Fr., COLO; Jessica Aschenbrenner, So., COLO; Lydia Bai, RS Fr., STAN; Lauren Bar!eld, Sr., WASH; Megan Beckwith, So., COLO; Hannah Benjamin, Jr., STAN; Kat Brown, Jr., CAL; Katie Camp, Sr., UCLA; Karissa Cook, Jr., STAN; Becky Defoe, So., OSU; Kelcey Dunaway, Jr., WASH; Katie Fuller, Jr., USC; Adrienne Gehan, So., CAL; Natalie Hagglund, So., USC; Shannon Hawari, Sr., CAL; Correy Johnson, Jr., CAL; Ashley Kastl, So., ASU; Kellie Kawasaki, Jr., ORE; Rachael Kidder, Jr., UCLA; Danielle Killpack, Sr., UTAH; Mary Ellen Luck, So., STAN; Sonja Markanovich, Sr., ASU; Megan McBride, Jr., OSU; Sarah McGaf!n, So., ASU; Tori Moore, RS, Jr., ARIZ; Kylin Muñoz, Jr., WASH; Tarah Murrey, Sr., CAL; Meg Norton, So., UCLA; Jenna Orlandini, So., WASH; Gabbi Parker, So., WASH; Alexis Pinson, So., ASU; Lauren Plum, So., ORE; Stephanie Preach, So., ASU; Kelly Reeves, So., UCLA; Allie Rogers, RS Fr., OSU; Anicia Santos, Sr., COLO; Camille Saxton, Jr., OSU; Laura Schaudt, RS Fr., OSU; Dre Shaw, Sr., OSU; Natasa Siljkovic, Jr., USC; Abby Simmons, Jr., UTAH; Bojana Todorovic, Jr., UCLA; Rachel Todorovich, Jr., WSU; Alyssa Valentine, Sr., COLO; Lauren Van Orden, Sr., UCLA; Rachel Williams, So., STAN; Erin Yoder, Jr., USC; Kelsey Zimmerman, So., OSU.

2011 – Katherine Fischer (1st), Alaina Bergsma (2nd), Lauren Gross (2nd), Kellie Kawasaki (HM), Lauren Plum (HM)
2010 – Katherine Fischer (1st), Lauren Gross (2nd), Haley Jacob (HM), Kellie Kawasaki (HM), Jocelyn Levig (HM), Rhiannon Tooker (HM)
2009 - Nevena Djordjevic (2nd), Sonja Newcombe (HM)
2008 - Nevena Djordjevic (HM), Kristen Forristall (HM), Sonja Newcombe (HM), Katie Swoboda (HM)
2007 - Nevena Djordjevic (2nd), Sonja Newcombe (HM), Karen Waddington (HM), Kristen Forristall (HM)
2006 - Kristin Bitter (1st), Erin Little (1st), Heather Madison (HM), Karen Waddington (HM)
2005 - Kristin Bitter (1st), Erin Little (2nd), Stephanie Alleman (HM), Heather Madison (HM), Kelly Russell (HM)
2004 - Kristen Bitter (1st), Katie O’Neil (2nd), Kelly Russell (2nd), Lauren Westendorf (2nd), Erin Little (HM), Heather Madison (HM)
2003 - Katie O’Neil (2nd)
2002 - Lindsay Murphy (1st), Katie O’Neil (HM), Sydney Chute (HM), Heather Gilmore (HM)
2001 - Sydney Chute (2nd), Diana Blank (HM), Julie Gerlach (HM), Lindsay Murphy (HM), Monique Tobbagi (HM)
1999 - Carli Halligan (2nd), Annie Pogue (2nd)
1997 - Casey Crisler (1st), Alison Pepe (2nd)
1996 - Casey Crisler (1st)
1995 - Casey Crisler (1st)
1994 - Angee Henderson (2nd)
1993 - Nicolle Hedberg (2nd)
1990 - Molly McGrath (2nd)
1989 - Stephanie Snyder

- -

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks