Don't have an account? Click Here
Bergsma, Plum & Brenner Land All-Pac-12 Honors
Release Date: 11/27/2012
Print RSS
Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – After leading Oregon to a record-breaking season, redshirt senior outside hitter Alaina Bergsma was rewarded with Pac-12 Volleyball Player of the Year honors in a vote by conference head coaches.

The Chandler, Ariz., native became the first Duck to score the league’s top volleyball honor in 27 years of Pac-12 play.  Similarly, junior Lauren Plum won the Pac-12 Setter of the Year award, and the pair were joined on the 14-person All-Pac-12 Team by sophomore outside hitter Liz Brenner.

Two other Ducks – senior libero Haley Jacob and junior middle blocker Ariana Williams – were tabbed as honorable mentions to the All-Pac-12 Team.

Bergsma and Plum repeated All-Pac-12 honors from 2011, as did Williams in the honorable mention category.

This week, the returning All-American Bergsma ranks fifth nationally in kills and points and first in the Pac-12 in both. She has 26 double-digit kill totals, including Pac-12 season highs at WSU (32, 4 sets) and No. 6 Washington (31, 5s) that won her a school-record sixth Pac-12 Player of the Week in November (and third honor this season).

Plum tops the nation in assists (13.25 per set) and owns the Pac-12’s first- and third-best totals of 2012 at No. 6 Washington (75) and vs. California (66). In league play, her assists per set average is even higher (13.54 p/s), and she stands 10th-best in Pac-12-only play in aces (0.25 p/s).

Brenner stands top 80 nationally in kills (73rd, 3.87 p/s) and points (79th, 4.31 p/s), and 10th in the Pac-12 in both categories. She won her first Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week honor after November wins vs. Arizona (3 sets, 18K, .516, career high 4 aces) and ASU (5s, 17K, .297, 11 digs).

Jacob stands third in the Pac-12 in digs per set in league action (4.76 p/s) and fifth for all matches combined (4.37 p/s). Among her 21 career +20-dig matches, five have come this year in league play vs. No. 2 Washington (26), at No. 7 Stanford (26), vs. California (25), at WSU (22) and at Cal (20).

Williams stands seventh in the Pac-12 in hitting (.341) this week, 72nd nationally and fifth all-time for Oregon in a season. She has 11 +.300 hitting marks and eight double-digit kill tallies in Pac-12 matches this season, and has led the team in blocks in eight league tilts.

Team-wise, the Ducks (25-4, 16-4) staked a best-ever runner-up conference finish and improved upon its former-best fourth-place finishes in 2008, 1989, '87 and '86. Friday's win at Oregon State also tied the team's top overall win total (25) since the start of the conference in 1986, and second-best since the beginning of NCAA play in 1981 (behind its 27-12 mark in 1984).

This week, UO received a best-ever #5 seed in the 64-team NCAA Tournament, and will host postseason home matches for the first time since 1986.

In Friday’s NCAA First Round, UO faces Northern Colorado at 8 p.m. at Matthew Knight Arena, while Dayton and Pepperdine will play immediately before at 5:30 p.m. On Saturday, the two, first-round winners will play in the NCAA Second Round at 8 p.m.

All-session packages are on sale at for $18 (reserved tickets), $10 (adult G.A.), $6 (students and senior citizens) and $4 for children 3-12 years old (and infants two and under are free with a paying adult).

Pac-12 Player of the Year: Alaina Bergsma, ORE
Pac-12 Freshman of the Year: Samantha Bricio, USC
Pac-12 Setter of the Year: Lauren Plum, ORE
Pac-12 Libero of the Year: Natalie Hagglund, USC
Pac-12 Coach of the Year: John Dunning, STAN

All-Pac-12 Team
Alaina Bergsma, ORE
Liz Brenner, ORE
Lauren Plum, ORE
Inky Ajanaku, STAN
Samantha Bricio, USC
Jordan Burgess, STAN
Macey Gardner, ASU
Natalie Hagglund, USC
Shannon Hawari, CAL
Brittany Howard, STAN
Rachel Kidder, UCLA
Tabi Love, UCLA
Krista Vansant, WASH
Carly Wopat, STAN

Honorable Mention: Katie Fuller, USC; Jaicee Harris, WSU; Haley Jacob, ORE; Correy Johnson, CAL; Madi Kingdon, ARIZ; Kylin Munoz, WASH; Zoe Nightingale, UCLA; Alexis Olgard, USC; Erin Redd, UTAH, Camille Saxton, OSU; Sara Shaw, USC; Ariana Williams, ORE; Rachel Williams, STAN; Erica Wilson, ARIZ.

Pac-12 All-Freshman Team
Inky Ajanaku, STAN
Samantha Bricio, USC
Madi Bugg, STAN
Jordan Burgess, STAN
Macey Gardner, ASU
Brittany Howard, STAN
Allison Palmer, ASU

Honorable Mention: Halli Amaro, ARIZ; Alexis Austin, COLO; Nicole Edelman, COLO; Olivia Magill, ARIZ; Alicia Ogoms, USC; Becca Strehlow, UCLA; Cassie Strickland, WASH.



2012 – Alaina Bergsma

2012- Lauren Plum

2012- Alaina Bergsma, Liz Brenner, Lauren Plum
2011 – Alaina Bergsma, Lauren Plum
2010 – Heather Meyers
2009 – Neticia Enesi, Sonja Newcombe
2008 - Neticia Enesi, Gorana Maricic, Sonja Newcombe
2007 - Gorana Maricic
1998 - Madeline Ernst
1991 - Dawnn Charroin
1989 - Michele Krebsbach
1987 - Teri Kramer, Lauri Krejcha
1986 - Michele Krebsbach (2nd Team), Teri Kramer (2nd Team)

* In 1986, the Pac-10 selected a first and second team, and has chosen only one team since that season.

** Starting in 2011, the Pac-12 began separate Setter and Libero of the Year honors (compared to a single POY award from 1986-2010).


2012 - Haley Jacob, Ariana Williams
2011 – Ariana Williams
2010 – Alaina Bergsma
2009 - Nevena Djordjevic, Heather Meyers
2008 – Katie Swoboda
2007 – Heather Meyers, Sonja Newcombe, Katie Swoboda
2006 – Sonja Newcombe
2004 – Sarah Mason
2002 – Dariam Acevedo
2002 – Lindsay Closs
2001 – Stephanie Martin
2000 – Monique Tobbagi
1996 – Amy Barnes

2011 - Liz Brenner
2010 – Lauren Plum
2009 – Katherine Fischer
2007 - Heather Meyers
2006 - Sonja Newcombe
2005 - Mira Djuric
2003 - Sarah Mason
2002 - Dariam Acevedo
1991 - Stephanie Warren
1988 - Dawnn Charroin
1986 - *Michele Krebsbach, Stephanie Snyder

* indicates Pac-10 Freshman of the Year

2010 - Ariana Williams
2006 – Nevena Djordjevic, Netica Enesi
2005 – Katie Swoboda
2002 – Jodi Bell, Kelly Russell
2000 – Sydney Chute
1998 – Julie Gerlach

- –


Ducks On Pac-12 Networks