Don't have an account? Click Here
Two Soccer Ducks Grab All-Conference Nods
Release Date: 11/09/2011
Print RSS
Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.- Junior Scout Libke and freshman Bri Pugh grabbed two of the Pac-12's spots on the all-conference teams as announced by Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott Wednesday morning. The voting for the team was done by the league's coaches.

With her selection to the Pac-12 All-Conference First Team, Libke has garnered a postseason award for the second time in her career as she was named to the Pac-10 All-Freshman squad during her initial campaign in Eugene. She is the second straight Duck to be named to the first team as former standout Jen Stoltenberg was tabbed to the team last season in her final season.

Libke, a Portland native, played every minute of every Oregon match this season and added a team-high four goals into the offensive mix.  The defender, who was second on the team in shots taken with 21, got three of her goals off penalty kicks, while the other was earned in UO's 1-1 tie with Washington on Oct. 21 at Pape' Field.

Pugh becomes the first freshman since Libke and just the fifth all-time in Oregon history to be named to the all-freshman contingent. Freshmen contributed heavily on both the offensive and defensive side of the ball for the Ducks and despite an early injury, Pugh fought back and rose to finish with four goals on the season off a team-high 29 shots taken.

This is the seventh straight year that the Ducks have had a player earn a postseason award from the league office.

No. 1 Stanford swept the yearly honors as the head Cardinal Paul Ratcliffe was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year and Lindsay Taylor and Chioma Ubogagu was tabbed, player of the year and freshman of the year, respectively.

In all five Pac-12 teams made the NCAA Tournament field announced on Monday and will begin the quest to compete for the Women's College Cup at the Kennesaw State University Soccer Stadium in Kennesaw, Ga. on Dec. 2 and 4. Stanford drew the number-one overall seed and UCLA was named one of the four No. 2 seeds. California, Oregon State and Washington State all earned at-large bids.


Pac-12 Women's Soccer All-Conference Honors

All-Conference First Team

Name Position Year School

Lindsay Taylor F Sr. Stanford

Sydney Leroux F Sr UCLA

Chelsea Buckland F RS Jr. Oregon St.

Brandi Vega F Jr. Washington St.

Teresa Noyola MF Sr. Stanford

Camille Levin MF Sr. Stanford

Zakiya Bywaters MF Jr. UCLA

Abby Dahlkemper D Fr. UCLA

Alina Garciamendez D Jr. Stanford

Scout Libke D Jr. Oregon

Emily Oliver GK So. Stanford


All-Conference Second Team

Name Position Year School

Chioma Ubogagu F Fr. Stanford

Erin Dalley F Sr. Utah

Jenna Richardson F So. Oregon St.

Rachel Quon D Jr. Stanford

Danielle Brunache D Sr. California

Rachael Doyle D So. Washington St.

Samantha Mewis MF Fr. UCLA

Brittany Kerridge MF Sr. USC

Kate Deines MF Sr. Washington

Betsy Hassett MF Jr. California

Jorde LaFontaine-Kussman GK Sr. Washington


Honorable Mention

Mariah Nogueira (STAN, Jr., MF), Colleen Boyd (OSU, Sr. GK), Lauren Battung (CAL, Jr.,

F/MF), Taylor McCarter (ASU, Jr., MF), Kaitlyn Fitzpatrick (CAL, So., MF), Lauren Porter

(UTAH, Sr., D), Sarah Martinez (WASH, Sr., F), Brittany Galindo (OSU, Sr., D), Jocelyn Jeffers

(WSU, Fr., MF), Elizabeth Eddy (USC, So., F/MF), Amy Barczuk (COLO, Jr., MF/F).


All-Freshman Team

Name Position School

Chioma Ubogagu F Stanford

Samantha Mewis MF UCLA

Jocelyn Jeffers MF Washington St.

Abby Dahlkemper D UCLA

Caprice Dydasco MF UCLA

Bri Pugh F Oregon

Nicole Setterlund MF Washington St.

Avery Ford D Utah

Kendall Romine D Stanford

Jaclyn Softli F Washington

Katelyn Rowland GK UCLA

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks