Don't have an account? Click Here

Walker's Run - Oregon Cross Country, Track and Field Blog

Walker's Pace: Track Teams to Be Honored at UCLA Game

Wednesday, October 19, 2010, 10:15 a.m.

Oregon's track and field and cross country teams will be presented with the national programs of the year awards during Thursday night's Oregon-UCLA football game.

During an on-field ceremony at the end of the first quarter, Sam Seems, CEO of the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association, will present University of Oregon President Richard Lariviere with the John McDonnell Men's and Terry Crawford Women's Program of the Year awards.

The women won the honor based on their national title in Indoor Track, a runner-up finish outdoors and a ninth-place showing in cross country. The men came out on top based on their runner-up finishes in cross country and indoor track (tied with Texas A&M) and their third-place showing at the NCAA Outdoor championships.

The awards are based on a point system, with the lowest total winning the annual honor. Three would be a perfect score for first-place finishes in all three NCAA championships. The Men of Oregon had the lowest total with 7.5 points. Arizona State was a distance second with 30 points.

The women won a close battle with Florida, scoring 12 points to edge the Gators' 14.

It is the second straight year that both Oregon teams have taken home the national program of the year award.

Many of the student-athletes who helped Oregon win this honor will join President Lariviere on the field during the ceremony, including NCAA champions Andrew Wheating, Ashton Eaton, Brianne Theisen, Keshia Baker, Amber Purvis, Michelle Williams, Jamesha Youngblood, A.J. Acosta, Chad Barlow and Travis Thompson, as well as Oregon Associate Athletic Director Vin Lananna.

Check out the 2010 Oregon Cross Country Multi-Media Guide.

Bookmark From the Press Box or subscribe to an RSS Feed for From the Press Box Blogs

blog comments powered by Disqus