Don't have an account? Click Here
Hasay Wins Pac-10 Athlete of the Year Award
Release Date: 11/30/2010
Print RSS
Related Links

EUGENE, Ore. - Jordan Hasay was named Pac-10 women's cross country athlete of the year, commissioner Larry Scott announced Wednesday.

The sophomore from Arroyo Grande, Calif., was the 2010 Pac-10 champion, winning the league's individual title in Seattle by :05. She was also the NCAA West Regional champion and finished third at last week's NCAA Championships. Her third-place showing at the national meet was the best by a Duck since Lisa Karnoop was also third in 1991.

"I'm really honored to represent Oregon," said Hasay, who sports a 4.02 grade point average in human physiology. "Coach (Vin) Lananna and assistant coach Jenni (Ashcroft) have been great in guiding me all year and I'm thankful to be part of such a supportive team."

Monday, Hasay was also named one of four national finalists for the Honda Award.

"The University of Oregon couldn't have a better example of what it means to be a student-athlete than Jordan Hasay and she is very deserving of this honor," said Lananna. "To do the things she did this fall as a sophomore is a tremendous accomplishment."

Hasay becomes the first Duck woman to win Pac-10 athlete of the year since Karnoop took the honor in 1991. She is the fifth Duck over all to claim the conference's athlete of the year award, joining Karnoop, Penny Graves (1986, ‘88), Annette Hand (1987) and Liz Wilson (1990).

Hasay, the 2009 Pac-10 newcomer of the year, and senior Alex Kosinski were the two Oregon women selected to the all-Pac-10 first team.

The men had four all-conference selections, including senior Matthew Centrowitz and junior Luke Puskedra on the first team and seniors A.J. Acosta and Danny Mercado on the second team.

The men's athlete and newcomer of the year was Stephen Sambu of Arizona, while the women's newcomer of the year was Katie Flood of Washington. The men's coach of the year award went to Stanford's Jason Dunn, while women's coach of the year honors went to James Li of Arizona.

- -


Ducks On Pac-12 Networks