Don't have an account? Click Here
Three Ducks Earn Cross Country All-America Honors
Release Date: 11/19/2012
Print RSS
Related Links
NEW ORLEANS, La. - The three seniors who led Oregon to the 2012 NCAA women's cross country national title, Jordan Hasay, Alexi Pappas and Katie Conlon, were named All-Americans Monday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Hasay was also one of 12 Ducks honored by the Pac-12 for their academic work in the classroom.

Hasay, from Arroyo Grande, Calif., finished third overall at Saturday's NCAA Championship race in Louisville, Ky., in 19:28.6. Pappas, a transfer from Dartmouth was eighth in 19:43.9 and Conlon, a transfer from NAIA Jamestown College in North Dakota, took 39th in 20:15.0.

Hasay became the first woman in program history to win four cross country All-America awards. Combined with track and field, Hasay now owns a school-record 15 All-America honors. It was the first career All-America awards for Pappas and Conlon.

Oregon came away with its third overall cross country crown and their first since 1987. The Pac-12 had 11 women gain All-America status - the most among the nation's conferences.

Meanwhile, Hasay, Anne Kesselring and Ben DeJarnette were named Pac-12 all-academic first team selections. Hasay has a 3.98 grade point average in business administration.

Kesselring, a senior from Nurnberg, Germany, holds a 4.04 GPA in business administration, while DeJarnette, a junior from Mechanicsville, Va., has a 4.00 GPA in journalism. DeJarnette was named the NCAA's Elite 89 winner for men's cross country over the weekend.

Junior Tim Costin and freshman Matthew Melancon were picked as second team all-academic selections. Costin, from Springfield, Ore., has a 3.51 GPA in business administration, while Melancon, from Eugene, Ore., holds a 3.80 GPA.

Others cited by the league as Pac-12 all-academic honorable mention selections were sophomore Megan Patrignelli and freshman Allie Woodward for the women and junior Parker Stinson, sophomores Ryan Pickering, Cole Watson and Daniel Winn, and freshman Chris Brewer for the men.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks