Don't have an account? Click Here
Oregon's Zimmerman Elected Into NFL Hall of Fame
Release Date: 02/02/2008
Print RSS
Related Links

Former University of Oregon All-American Gary Zimmerman has become the sixth Ducks’ standout elected into the NFL Hall of Fame.


The long-overdue honor caps a long list of accolades for one of the best football players in school history, who completed his collegiate career by receiving the Morris Trophy as the Pacific-10 Conference’s top offensive lineman his senior year. The first-team all-conference and All-Coast choice, who played for the Ducks from 1980-83, earned the rare distinction of receiving league player-of-the-week acclaim following a 1983 win over California.


The 12-year National Football League veteran and seven-time Pro Bowl selection was named to the all-NFL first team on five occasions after breaking into the professional ranks with a two-year stint in the USFL.


The 1997 NFL offensive lineman of the year, who played for the Minnesota Vikings from 1986-92 before finishing with the Denver Broncos from 1993-97, accumulated a string of 169 consecutive professional starting assignments and played a big role in helping Denver win the Super Bowl his final season.


He becomes Oregon’s first NFL Hall-of-Fame inductee since Dave Wilcox was added to the Canton, Ohio shrine in 2000, and joins former Ducks Tuffy Leemans, Norm Van Brocklin, Dan Fouts and Mel Renfro as NFL immortals.


Zimmerman will be inducted with a class that includes former Washington Redskins teammates Darrell Green (cornerback) and Art Monk (wide receiver), New England linebacker Andre Tippett, San Diego/San Francisco defensive end Fred Dean, and Kansas City cornerback Emmitt Thomas.


Inductions will be made at the Pro Football Hall of Fame game on Aug. 2.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks