Don't have an account? Click Here
All 10 Women's National Champions Named First Team All-America
Release Date: 03/14/2011
Print RSS
Related Links

EUGENE, Ore. -- All 10 women who led Oregon to its second consecutive NCAA Indoor Track and Field national championship, plus two men were named first team All-Americans by the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) on Monday.

Two-time indoor champion Jordan Hasay led the list with three All-America awards. The sophomore from Arroyo Grande, Calif., became just the fifth individual to win both the mile and the 3,000 meters at the same championships, and the first since Northern Arizona's Johanna Nilsson in 2006. The others were Vicki Huber of Villanova in 1988, Suzy Favor of Wisconsin in 1990 and Claire Eichner of Wisconsin in 1993.

Hasay also broke Leann Warren's 29-year-old school record in the mile by running 4:33.01. She was also honored for the distance medley relay team that finished second.

Brianne Theisen was honored twice, once for her record-setting pentathlon win (4,540 points) and again for her leg on the eighth-place 4x400 meter relay team.

Other women's first team honorees included Zoe Buckman (mile), Becca Friday (distance medley relay), Melissa Gergel (pole vault), Anne Kesselring (mile, DMR), Chizoba Okodogbe (4x400 relay, DMR), Amber Purvis (60 meters, 200 meters, 4x400 relay), Laura Roesler (4x400 relay) and Jamesha Youngblood). Roesler was also a second team selection in the 800 meters.

For the men, Matthew Centrowitz was a first team pick for the 3,000 meters, while David Klech was a first team honoree for the heptathlon.

The men also had second team selections for Mike Berry (distance medley relay), Mac Fleet (mile, DMR), Elijah Greer (800 meters), Boru Guyota (DMR), Luke Puskedra (5,000 meters) and Centrowitz (DMR).

- -

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks