Don't have an account? Click Here

Walker's Run - Oregon Cross Country, Track and Field Blog

Walker's Pace: Theisen One of 10 Bowerman Finalists

Monday, June 21, 2010, 3:15 p.m.

Junior Brianne Theisen was named as one of 10 women's finalists for the Bowerman, which was released by the USTFCCCA on Monday. Theisen won both the NCAA outdoor heptathlon and indoor pentathlon titles in 2010.

Tomorrow, the men's finalists will be announced and it's highly expected that Ashton Eaton and Andrew Wheating will be among the 10 on that list. The national coaching awards are also due later this week.

It caps a remarkable awards season for the Ducks. In fact, so much was flying Oregon's way from the national and conference offices, that it would have been easy to miss something. So the 'Pace offers a recap with links!

USTFCCCA National Awards

Oregon was represented in three of the four categories. Wheating was the national men's track athlete of the year. Eaton shared national men's field athlete of the year honors with Arizona State's Ryan Whiting. And Theisen was named the national women's field athlete of the year.

And both the men and women of Oregon captured the national program of the year awards; the men earned the John McDonnell male program of the year award and the women earned the Terry Crawford female program of the year award for the second straight season.

On the regional level, the Ducks dominated the USTFCCCA West honors.

Wheating was the men's track athlete of the year, Eaton was the men's field athlete of the year, and Theisen was the women's field athlete of the year. Keshia Baker was the West's women's track athlete of the year, while Associate Athletic Director Vin Lananna was the men's head coach of the year and Robert Johnson was the women's assistant coach of the year.

At the Pac-10 level, the Ducks also cleaned up.

Lananna was selected as the men's and women's coach of the year. Wheating was the men's runner of the year and Eaton shared men's field honors with Whiting. Theisen was the women's field athlete of the year, while Baker was the women's track athlete of the year.

On the All-America front, 28 Ducks earned a nod from the USTFCCCA.

And don'r forget the performances in the classroom. Keshia Baker was named the women's track and field women's scholar-athlete of the year, while 25 of her teammates joined her on the Pac-10 all-academic teams. Additionally, six Ducks earned CoSIDA ESPN the Magazine academic all-district honors, with the national teams yet to be announced.

Here's a link to Oregon's updated 2010 performances.

Here's a link to the 2010 Oregon Track & Field Multi-Media Guide.


Bookmark From the Press Box or subscribe to an RSS Feed for From the Press Box Blogs

blog comments powered by Disqus