Don't have an account? Click Here
Johnson Named USTFCCCA Coach of the Year
Release Date: 03/14/2013
Print RSS
Related Links

NEW ORLEANS, La. - Robert Johnson has been named the 2013 U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association national Women's NCAA Division I Indoor Track & Field coach of the year, the USTFCCCA announced Thursday.

Johnson, in his first season as head coach of the Ducks after serving as associate head coach, guided the program to its fourth consecutive NCAA Indoor team title, joining LSU (1993-97) as the only other program to win at least four straight championships.

The Ducks scored 56 team points, clinching the meet on the final event with a victory in the 4×400 relay from the first heat to beat runner-up Kansas (44). That 4×400 team headlined a nation-best 17 USTFCCCA first-team All-American honors, including runner-up showings in three events.

The Ducks also claimed the MPSF team title with 112 points, defeating Arizona State by 16 points.

It is the third straight indoor coach of the year honor for Johnson, who is in his eighth year overall with Oregon.

Chris Bucknam of Arkansas was named the men's indoor coach of the year after leading the Razorbacks to their first title since 2006.

Recent Women's Winners:
2013: Robert Johnson, Oregon
2012: Robert Johnson, Oregon
2011: Robert Johnson, Oregon
2010: Vin Lananna, Oregon
2009: J.J. Clark, Tennessee
2008: Greg Kraft, Arizona State
2007: Greg Kraft, Arizona State

- -

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks