Don't have an account? Click Here
Duck Quartet Racks Up NFCA Softball All-Region Nods
Release Date: 05/19/2011
Print RSS
Related Links
STARKVILLE, Miss. – A day before the No. 11 University of Oregon softball team opens the postseason, a quartet of UO players continued to add honors to the already-crowded Duck mantle.

Sophomore pitcher Jessica Moore and senior first baseman Monique Fuiava made their first appearances on the NFCA Pacific All-Region First Team, as did freshman second baseman Courtney Ceo and catcher Alexa Peterson on the Second Team.

Dating back to 1988, UO has now staked 15 first-team and 23 second-team laurels. Thursday’s total tied its second-best tally ever - one shy of its all-time all-time high (5) from 1989.

Among notable stats for Oregon’s all-region honorees this week:
- Moore ranks top-six all-time for UO in a season with this year’s totals in strikeouts  (fourth, 193) and wins (sixth, 21).
- Fuiava also sports all-time Duck season rankings in RBI (ninth, 44) and doubles (10th-t, 12).
- Peterson leads the Ducks in Pac-10-only games in batting (.356) after she topped the team the last two weekends vs. then-No. 12 UCLA (.714) and then-No. 10 Stanford (.444).
- Ceo ranked top 10 in the league overall this week in hits (seventh, 62), stolen bases (seventh, 14) and batting (eighth, .405).

A complete list of Duck All-Region recipients is listed at the bottom of this press release.

Other schools from the Pacific Region that were tabbed on the 12-person teams selected by region head coaches included Boise State, BYU, California, Nevada, Pacific, Portland State, Utah and Washington.

Overall, a total of 258 players from 126 different institutions comprised this season’s 10 first- and second-team all-regional squads, and a complete list of honorees is available at the website at the URL address.

All honorees are now eligible for selection to the Louisville Slugger/NFCA All-America first, second or third teams. In addition, conference pitchers and players of the year not selected to the regional teams were added for All-America consideration.

A day earlier, the conference head coaches selected Moore and Fuiva to the All-Pac-10 First and Second Teams, respectively, while Ceo, sophomore Samantha Pappas and seniors Brittany Rumfelt and Kaitlin Vitek were honorable mentions. Ceo and Alexa Peterson were also tabbed to the All-Pac-10 Freshman Team, while Kailee Cuico was an honorable mention.

On Tuesday, Peterson and senior Brittany Rumfelt were selected as the Pac-10 Player and Pitcher of the Week after UO took its first series from then-No. 12 UCLA since 2005 by a 2-1 margin.

Looking ahead to this weekend's State College (Pa.) NCAA softball regional, the No. 13-seeded Ducks (39-14, 11-10) will make their 13th regional appearance and first face America East champion Albany (28-21, 14-4) Friday at 11:30 a.m. Pacific Time.

Action between the four teams continues Saturday with three games, and Sunday with at least one game (if not two) in the double-elimination bracket that also includes Atlantic-10 champion Fordham (41-7, 16-4) and Penn State (29-22-1, 11-8-1).

Sunday’s regional final games will be televised by the Big Ten Network, and every game will also be broadcast online by Penn State for free at the website.


Pos. - Name, School
P - Jolene Henderson, California
P - Jessica Moore, Oregon
C - Jessica Purcell-Fitu, BYU
1B - Monique Fuiava, Oregon
2B - Kristin Delahoussaye, BYU
3B - Jace Williams, California
SS - Jenn Salling, Washington
OF - Kimi Pohlman, Washington
OF - Jamia Reid, California
OF - Taylor Smith, Washington
UT/P - Kaitlin Inglesby, Washington
UT/Non-P - Niki Williams, Washington

Pos. - Name, School
P - Paige Affleck, BYU
P - Anna Bertrand, Portland State
P - Nichole Latham, Portand State
C - Alexa Peterson, Oregon
1B - Tia Palauni, Utah
2B - Karley Hopkins, Nevada, Reno
3B - Courtney Ceo, Oregon
SS - Britt Vonk, California
OF - Devon Bridges, Boise State
OF - Megan Hom, the Pacific
OF - Jenna Krogh, Portland State
UT/P - Nikki Armagost, Pacific
UT/Non-P - Kelsey Rodriguez, Pacific

1988 — Dennise Jones, P (2nd)
1988 — Susan Voeller, P (2nd)
1989 — Julie Cavanaugh, C (1st)
1989 — Kim Manning, UT/DP (1st)
1989 — Danny Senner, SS (1st)
1989 — Katie Wiese, P (1st)
1989 — Kathy Gray, 1B (2nd)
1989 — +Teresa Wilson, Coach
1990 — Julie Cavanaugh, 1B (1st)
1990 — Katie Wiese, P (2nd)
1991 — Julie Cavanaugh, 1B (1st)
1992 — Marnie McCall, OF (2nd)
1992 — Jennifer Piper, 2B (2nd)
1993 — Trina Salcido, 3B (2nd)
1994 — Heather Holte, DP (1st)
1995 — Kim Kampfer, P (2nd)
1995 — Melisa Lemke, OF (2nd)
1995 — Angie LeRoy, OF (2nd)
1996 — Kathy Stahl, SS (1st)
1996 — Angie LeRoy, UT (1st)
1996 — Lisa Preston, OF (2nd)
1997 — Lindsey Welch, OF (1st)
1998 — Jennie Cook, DP (2nd)
1998 — Lindsey Welch, OF (2nd)
1999 — Andrea Gustafson, IF (2nd)
1999 — Triawn Custer, IF (2nd)
2004 — Beth Boskovich, IF (2nd)
2007 — Jenn Salling, SS (1st)
2007 — Joanna Gail, 3B (2nd)
2007 — Sari-Jane Jenkins, OF (2nd)
2007 — Ann Marie Topps, UT (2nd)
2009 — Neena Bryant (1st)
2010 — Samantha Pappas (1st)
2010 — Allie Burger (2nd)
2010 — Jessica Moore (2nd)
2011 — Monique Fuiava (1st)
2011 — Jessica Moore (1st)
2011 — Courtney Ceo (2nd)
2011 — Alexa Peterson (2nd)


- –


Ducks On Pac-12 Networks