Don't have an account? Click Here
NCAA #11 Seed Ducks Land Record Six All-Region Nods
Release Date: 05/20/2012
Print RSS
Related Links

EUGENE – Looking ahead to its third straight NCAA Super Regional trip, the #11-seeded University of Oregon softball team (42-15, Pac-12: 13-9 (3rd)) picked up a school-record six NFCA All-Pacific Region honors this week.

A quartet were tabbed to the first team – the junior trio of pitcher Jessica Moore, second baseman Kaylan Howard and outfielder Samantha Pappas– and sophomore catcher Alexa Peterson.

Sophomore infielders Courtney Ceo and  Kailee Cuico added second-team nods.

Oregon was one of five teams nationally with Arizona State, Alabama, Louisiana-Lafayette and UCLA that placed all six of its nominees on first and second teams.

Moore became the first Duck pitcher to receive repeat first-team honors. Pappas – a first-team choice in ’10 - became the third Duck to earn multiple first-team honors with former great Julie Cavanaugh (C/1B, 1989, ’90, ’91)

Ceo and Peterson were second-team choices last year, and Howard and Cuico picked up their first All-Region honors.

The first-team quartet are now up for consideration for the Louisville Slugger/ NFCA All-America First, Second and Third Teams that will be announced at the end of the month.
Last year’s pair of first-team honorees – Moore and then-senior Monique Fuiava – were only the Ducks’ fourth duo in school history with the other coming in ’96.

Altogether during third-year head coach Mike White’s tenure, the Ducks have claimed seven of their 19 first-team all-time selections (and six of its 25 second-team choices) in the honor dating back to 1988.

Oregon’s previous All-Region selection record (5) came in ’89, the year it advanced to the Women’s College World Series. That team featured four first-team and one second-team selections.

Notable stats for Oregon’s 2012 All-Region honorees follow:

- Moore registered all of the team’s wins vs. top-25 foes this year (13), and the 30-game winner became the second Duck to beat every league foe in a season since the conference expanded to eight teams in 1995.

- Howard leads the team in homers (12) and ranks seventh all-time in a season for UO, and also top 10 in RBI (fourth, 50), extra base hits (fifth, 27), doubles (fifth, 14) and total bases (eighth, 108).

- Pappas leads the team in hitting (.414), slugging (.694) and doubles (16), and the latter total ranks second all-time for UO. She also stands top-10 for Oregon in a season with her 2012 totals in extra base hits (sixth, 26) and total bases (seventh, 109).

- Peterson stands fourth on the team in game-winning RBI (5) in 2012, and has staked career highs in homers (6), hits (45) and RBI (32).

- Ceo ranks second on the team in batting (.378), and racked up a team-high 45 hits in the first 36 games of the year.

- Cuico leads the team in RBI (52) with the third-best mark for Oregon in a season, and also ranks 10th all-time for UO in homers (11-tied).

Other schools tabbed on the 12-person teams selected by region head coaches included Boise State, BYU, California, Cal State Sacramento, Oregon State, Pacific, Portland State, UC Davis, Utah and Washington.

Pacific Region - First Team
Pos. - Name, School
P - Jolene Henderson, California
P - Jessica Moore, Oregon
C - Alexa Peterson, Oregon
1B - Nikki Armagost, Pacific
2B - Kaylan Howard, Oregon
3B - Danielle Henderson, California
SS - JC Clayton, BYU
OF - Samantha Pappas, Oregon
OF - Jamia Reid, California
OF - Delaney Willard, BYU
UT/P - Valerie Arioto, California
DP/UT-Non-P - Nikia Williams, Washington

Pacific Region – Second Team
Pos. - Name, School
P - Tori Almond, Brigham Young
P - Anna Bertrand, Portland State
P - Justine Vela, UC Davis
P - Kacie McCarthy, Colorado State
C - Marissa Navarro, Cal State Sacramento
1B - Kailee Cuico, Oregon
2B - Stacie Toney, BYU
3B - Whitney Holm, Utah
SS - Elizabeth Santana, Oregon State
OF - Tara Glover, Boise State
OF - Kimi Pohlman, Washington
OF - Megan Hom, Pacific
UT/P - Kaitlin Inglesby, Washington
DP/UT-Non-P - Courtney Ceo, Oregon
Overall, a total of 263 players from 129 different institutions comprised this season’s 10 first- and second-team all-regional squads, and a complete list of honorees is available at the website at the URL address.

Earlier this week, 11 Ducks were tabbed to various All-Pac-12 teams. Moore and Pappas landed their second, All-Pac-12 First-Team honors, and senior shortstop Kelsey Chambers and Howard earned their first All-Pac-12 Second-Team nods.

Four other Ducks added honorable mention status – senior utility player Christie Nieto and sophomore infielders Ceo, Cuico and Peterson.

Among other honors, outfielder Janie Takeda was tabbed to the All-Pac-12 Freshman Team, and outfielder Sara Goodrum and pitcher Karissa Hovinga were honorable mentions.

Looking ahead to this weekend's Super Regional in Austin, the #11 seed Oregon takes on #6 seed Texas (46-11) for a two-day, best-of-three series on Friday and Saturday.

Friday's game is set for a 6 p.m. start Pacific Time, and will be shown by ESPN-U.

Saturday's second game is set for a 2 p.m. start Pacific Time, and a potential deciding game would follow immeidately after (and both Saturday tilts are on ESPN).

The other seven Super Regionals across the nation will be televised by various ESPN networks this Thursday-Sunday.

Afterwards, the Super Regional winners will advance to the eight-team, double-elimination Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City, Thursday-Wednesday, May 31-June 6.

More information on the NCAA tournament is available at the website.

1988 — Dennise Jones, P (2nd)
1988 — Susan Voeller, P (2nd)
1989 — Julie Cavanaugh, C (1st)
1989 — Kim Manning, UT/DP (1st)
1989 — Danny Senner, SS (1st)
1989 — Katie Wiese, P (1st)
1989 — Kathy Gray, 1B (2nd)
1989 — +Teresa Wilson, Coach
1990 — Julie Cavanaugh, 1B (1st)
1990 — Katie Wiese, P (2nd)
1991 — Julie Cavanaugh, 1B (1st)
1992 — Marnie McCall, OF (2nd)
1992 — Jennifer Piper, 2B (2nd)
1993 — Trina Salcido, 3B (2nd)
1994 — Heather Holte, DP (1st)
1995 — Kim Kampfer, P (2nd)
1995 — Melisa Lemke, OF (2nd)
1995 — Angie LeRoy, OF (2nd)
1996 — Kathy Stahl, SS (1st)
1996 — Angie LeRoy, UT (1st)
1996 — Lisa Preston, OF (2nd)
1997 — Lindsey Welch, OF (1st)
1998 — Jennie Cook, DP (2nd)
1998 — Lindsey Welch, OF (2nd)
1999 — Andrea Gustafson, IF (2nd)
1999 — Triawn Custer, IF (2nd)
2004 — Beth Boskovich, IF (2nd)
2007 — Jenn Salling, SS (1st)
2007 — Joanna Gail, 3B (2nd)
2007 — Sari-Jane Jenkins, OF (2nd)
2007 — Ann Marie Topps, UT (2nd)
2009 — Neena Bryant, OF (1st)
2010 — Samantha Pappas, OF (1st)
2010 — Allie Burger, OF (2nd)
2010 — Jessica Moore, P (2nd)
2011 — Monique Fuiava, 1B (1st)
2011 — Jessica Moore, P (1st)
2011 — Courtney Ceo, 3B (2nd)
2011 — Alexa Peterson, C (2nd)
2012 — Kaylan Howard, 2B (1st)
2012 — Jessica Moore, P (1stt)
2012 —Samantha Pappas, OF (1st)
2012 — Alexa Peterson , C(1st)
2012 — Kailee Cuico 1B (2nd)
2012 — Courtney Ceo, UT (2nd)

- –

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks