Don't have an account? Click Here
Oregon Wins Duck Invitational Championship
Release Date: 03/26/2013
Print RSS
Related Links

EUGENE, Ore. -- The Oregon Ducks grinded out their first team championship since winning the Aggie Invitational in April 2012 on Tuesday afternoon at the Duck Invitational.

The Ducks finished the tournament six-under par (858) as a team and outlasted SMU (-3, 861) by three strokes.

Additionally, sophomore Jonathan Woo (-8) captured the first individual championship of his career by two strokes over San Jose State's Cody Blick (-6) and Wichita State's Louis Cohen Boyer (-6). 

Oregon entered the day with a seven-shot lead but saw its lead dwindle to one when SMU climbed to three-under after starting the day at -2.  At that point, the Ducks were five-over for the day (-4).  

But Woo got hot and birdied five consecutive holes midway through his final round (holes 8-12).  Then, Rak Cho birdied three-straight holes (13-15) to open up a five-shot lead through 15 holes.  The Ducks held on the rest of the way to take the title.

Woo shot a three-day total of 208 (67-69-72) to win the individual tournament.  Cho followed in a tie for fourth (-4, 71-71-70=212) to help lead the Duck charge.  Rounding out the Oregon five were Zach Foushee (T10, E, 72-72-72), Sulman Raza and Ryann Ree, who both tied for 37th.

Competing as an individual, Tyler Parker finished in a tie for 10th, shooting a three-day total of 216 (73-70-73).

Oregon's win at the Duck Invitational marked its second-straight win at the invitational and third in the last four years.  In addition, Woo's win gave the Ducks their second consecutive individual title at Eugene.  Last year, Andrew Vijarro took the crown.

The Ducks will have only two days before their next tournament.  On Thursday, Oregon begins the three-day Stanford Intercollegiate.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks