Don't have an account? Click Here
Marcus Mariota Named Walter Camp Semifinalist
Release Date: 11/13/2013
Print RSS
Related Links

NEW HAVEN, Conn. -- University of Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota has been named one of 15 semifinalists for college football's 2013 Player of the Year award, presented annually by the Walter Camp Football Foundation.

Mariota, a sophomore from Honolulu, has totaled 31 touchdowns for the No. 6 Ducks (8-1, 5-1 Pac-12), throwing for 2,531 yards and 22 TDs, while adding 495 rushing yards and nine more scores.

His 259 pass attempts without an interception this season and 327 overall, dating to last season, are both Pac-12 records. Oregon's second-year starter has also thrown at least one touchdown pass in all 22 games of his career.

The Pac-12 Offensive Player of the year and all-conference quarterback in 2012, Mariota ranks seventh nationally in pass efficiency rating (173.43) and leads the FBS in fourth-quarter efficiency (283.34), having completed 19-of-20 passes (95.0%) for 252 yards and 5 TDs, He leads all quarterbacks in rushing yards per carry, averaging 7.98.

Mariota is also a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award and Davey O'Brien Award.

A list of five finalists will be announced on Dec. 2 with the winner revealed Dec. 12 during the 3 p.m. PT edition of ESPN's SportsCenter.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks