Don't have an account? Click Here
Marshall, Tyner Up For Doak Walker Award
Release Date: 07/17/2014
Print RSS
Related Links

Junior Byron Marshall and sophomore Thomas Tyner of Oregon were named Thursday to the preseason watch list for the Doak Walker Award as the nation's best running back.

Former UO running back LaMichael James won the Doak Walker Award for 2010.

Marshall and Tyner previously were named to the preseason watch list for the Maxwell Award as national player of the year, along with UO quarterback Marcus Mariota. Marshall led the Ducks in rushing with 1,038 yards in 2013, and Tyner set a school record for a true freshman with 711.

Semifinalists for the Doak Walker Award will be announced on Nov. 18, and finalists will be named six days later. The winner will be announced Dec. 11, during the Home Depot College Football Awards show on ESPN.

The Doak Walker Award, in its 25th year, requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and to be on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same academic classification.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks