Don't have an account? Click Here
Wong, Miernicki and Vijarro Add All-Pac-12 Honors
Release Date: 05/07/2012
Print RSS
Related Links

*Updated season/career stats are available via the link above.


EUGENE – University of Oregon seniors Eugene Wong, Daniel Miernicki and Andrew Vijarro added more honors to their already-crowded mantles in the Pac-12 Conference’s announcement of its top annual awards on Monday.

The North Vancouver, B.C. native Wong picked up his second Pac-12 Golfer of the Year honor after he shared the award in 2010 as a sophomore with Nick Taylor of Washington. He was also an honorable mention as a freshman in 2009.

The Santee, Calif., native Miernicki claimed his third All-Pac-12 First Team nod after similar honors in 2010 and ’11, and was a second-team choice as a freshman in 2009.

The Bend, Ore., native Vijarro added All-Pac-12 honorable mention honors after he landed second-team laurels last spring and another honorable mention nod as a sophomore.

Looking back over the season, Wong has enjoyed eight, top-five tournament finishes, including a tournament record-setting victory in the Alister MacKenzie Invitational. In the fall event on the PGA West course in LaQuinta, Calif., he posted an 18-under 195 (65-63-67) to win by two strokes with a school record for a three-round tournament.

Currently ranked No. 2 and No. 5 in the Golfstat and Golfweek national individual rankings, Wong has placed top five in each of the last five tournaments. His most recent placing was a tie for third in the Pac-12 Championships (69-68-69-73-279 (-9)).

Overall among his 34 rounds during the 2011-12 campaign, has shot 21 under-par rounds (and another at par). He has also led the team in 17 rounds and in the final standings of five of its 11 stroke play events. His -1.21 scoring average vs. par in on school record pace, and ahead of his record mark from 2009-10 (70.24) when he won Nicklaus National Player of the Year award.

Wong’s top league golfer award is the third all-time for the Ducks after Brent Murray claimed the honor in 1978.

Ranked ninth and 13th nationally (GS/GW) this week, Miernicki became the first Duck to ever score four straight All-Pac-12 honors.

This season, he has shot 16 under-par rounds and six at par among his 34 overall (and has posted Oregon’s low score 10 times). He has paced UO in the final standings of three of the last four tournaments with his win in the U.S. Intercollegiate (66-72-66-204 (-6) and runner-up efforts in the Pac-12 Championships (68-72-66-71-277 (-11)) and Aggie Invitational (second, 73-70-74-217 (+2)). He turned in three more top-five finishes earlier in the season to give him six overall on the campaign.

Vijarro claimed UO’s third individual title of the season in the Oregon Duck Invitational in March (71-70-69-210 (-6)), and also placed fifth in The Prestige last fall (68-71-68-207 (-9)) with a career-best score. Among his 34 stroke play rounds in 2011-12, he has 12 under-par and four at par, and has paced the team five times.

In the Duck record books, the trio rank 1-2-3 in number of career rounds at par or better (Miernicki, 86; Wong, 80: Vijarro, 56). Miernicki and Wong rank 1-2 in number of career wins (5/3-tied), and are currently tied for third for most rounds of par or better in a season behind Wong’s tally in 2009-10 (32), and Miernicki’s number that same season (28).  

Other award winners Monday included Stanford’s Patrick Rodgers (Pac-12 Freshman of the Year) and California’s Steve Desimone (Pac-12 Coach of the Year), with every award voted on by league head golf coaches.

Later Monday evening, the No. 6-ranked University of Oregon men’s golf team will tune into to see which NCAA Regional it will compete at Thu.-Sun., May 17-19. The six 14-team regional sites include Ann Arbor, Mich., Bowling Green, Kent., Athens, Ga., Greensboro, N.C., Norman, Okla. and Stanford, Calif.

The top five teams from each regional will advance to the NCAA Championships, set for May 29-June 3 at the Riviera Country Club in Los Angeles, Calif.

All-Pac-12 First Team
Patrick Cantlay, UCLA, So., Los Alamitos, Calif.
Steve Lim, USC, Sr., La Palma, Calif.
Daniel Miernicki, Oregon, Sr., Santee, Calif.
Cheng-Tsung Pan, Washington, Fr., Bradenton, Fla.
Patrick Rodgers, Stanford, Fr., Avon, Ind.
Chris Williams, Washington, Jr., Moscow, Idaho
Eugene Wong, Oregon, Sr., North Vancouver, B.C.
Andrew Yun, Stanford, Jr., Chandler, Ariz.
All-Pac-12 Second Team
Pedro Figueiredo, UCLA, Jr., Right Azeitao, Portugal
Brandon Hagy, California, So., Westlake Village, Calif.
Max Homa, California, Jr., Valencia, Calif.
Jeffrey Kang, USC, So., Fullerton, Calif.
Alex Kim, UCLA, Sr., Fullerton, Calif.
Michael Kim, California, Fr., Del Mar, Calif.
Pontus Widegren, UCLA, Jr., Danderyd, Sweden
Cameron Wilson, Stanford, So., Rowayton, Conn.
Honorable Mention: Anton Arboleda, So., UCLA; Mario Clemens, Jr., UCLA; Anthony Paolucci, Fr., USC; Sam Smith, Jr., USC; Joel Stalter, So., CAL; Martin Trainer, USC; Andrew Vijarro, Sr., ORE.

1961 - Jerry Cundari, 1st
1970 - Craig Griswold, 1st
1971 - Dave Glenz, 1st
1972 - Craig Griswold, 1st
1973 - Craig Griswold, 1st
1974 - Peter Jacobsen, 1st
1975 - Peter Jacobsen, 1st
1976 - Peter Jacobsen, 1st
1976 - Jeff Sanders, 1st
1977 - Brent Murray, 1st
1977 - Phil Currie, 1st
1978 - Brent Murray, 1st
1978 - Scott Tuttle, 1st
1979 - Jon Heselwood, 1st
1979 - Jeff Sanders, 2nd
1985 - George Daves, 2nd
1986 - George Daves, 2nd
1987 - Steve Rintoul, 2nd
1989 - Tom Smith, 2nd
1990 - Chris Holzgang, 2nd
1990 - Tim Hval, 2nd
1992 - Jeff Lyons, 1st
1992 - Doug DuChateau, 2nd
1993 - Jeff Lyons, 2nd
1993 - Cam Martin, 2nd
1994 - Ted Snavely, 1st
1995 - Ted Snavely, 2nd
1998 - Ben Crane, 2nd
1998 - Ryan Lavoie, 2nd
1999 - Adrian Burtner, 2nd
2000 - Ryan Lavoie, 1st
2001 - John Ellis, 2nd
2002 - Aaron Byers, 2nd
2003 - John Ellis, 1st
2005 - Matthew Ma, 2nd
2008 - Joey Benedetti, 2nd
2009 - Daniel Miernicki, 2nd
2010 - Daniel Miernicki, 1st
2010 - Eugene Wong, 1st
2011 - Daniel Miernicki, 1st
2011 - Andrew Vijarro, 2nd

- –

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks