Don't have an account? Click Here
Oregon To Host MPSF Lacrosse Tournament
Release Date: 04/29/2013
Print RSS
Related Links

The University of Oregon will host the 2013 Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Lacrosse Tournament at Papé Field, the home of Oregon lacrosse. The tournament features No. 1 seed Denver, the conference’s regular season champion, No. 2 seed Stanford, third-seeded California and No. 4 seed Southern California. The MPSF Tournament Semifinals will be held on Thursday, May 2. The first semifinal game will see No. 1 Denver face No. 4 Southern California at 4:30 p.m., while the second semifinal between No. 2 Stanford and No. 3 California is scheduled for 7 p.m. The two semifinal winners will play for the MPSF Tournament Championship on Saturday (May 4) at 1 p.m.

The MPSF Lacrosse Tournament will be held in Eugene for the second time in the history of the conference in 2013. The University of Oregon earned the right to host this year’s tournament after the Ducks captured the tournament title a season ago. The only previous tournament appearance in Eugene was in 2006, when Stanford defeated Denver, 12-6, to win the crown. Only three schools have ever won the MPSF Lacrosse Tournament, which was first held in 2004 — Oregon (2012), Stanford (2005-11) and California (2004). Oregon, which has appeared in the last two MPSF Tournament title games, missed the 2013 tournament but Stanford or California will have a chance to return to the winner’s circle on Saturday after the two schools meet in Thursday’s semifinals.

In the nine-year history of the MPSF Lacrosse Tournament, only four regular season champions (Oregon - 2012, Stanford - 2005, 2009, 2011) have gone on to win the postseason tournament. Denver has entered the MPSF Tournament as the top seed four previous times (2006-08, 2010) but has failed to win the tournament on each occasion. The Pioneers will be the No. 1 seed in the 2013 tournament. In 2004, Stanford came into the postseason as the No. 1 seed as well, only to fall to California in the finals.

The Denver Pioneers enter the MPSF Tournament with a 16-1 overall record. They are the tournament’s No. 1 seed after capturing the regular season title with an 8-0 conference record. Denver has won 14 consecutive matches and has not lost since late-February. The Pioneers have won five MPSF regular season championships since 2006 but have never won the MPSF Tournament. Denver will meet the No. 4 seed Southern California (8-9, 5-3) to open the tournament on Thursday. In their first year as a program, the Trojans qualified for the MPSF Tournament by defeating San Diego State, 12-11, on April 27. The USC-San Diego State game was essentially a tournament play-in game; had the Aztecs won, they would have been the No. 4 seed. USC lost to Denver, 16-11, on March 31 in the only previous meeting between the two schools. Stanford (11-5, 6-2) earned the No. 2 seed in the tournament after beating California, 14-13, on the final day of the regular season. The Cardinal has won seven out of the last eight MPSF Tournaments. California (9-6, 6-2) comes to Eugene as the No. 3 seed after it lost to Stanford on April 27 in a game that decided the tournament’s second seed. California and Stanford will meet in the nightcap on Thursday; Stanford leads the all-time series over California, 26-7.

Live video coverage will be provided by the University of Oregon via the Pac-12 Live Stream. Live stats are also available on the MPSF Tournament website at Live scoring updates will be available on Twitter via the handles of each team — Denver, USC, Stanford and California.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks